TGO Challenge 2017: Gear Part 1


Here’s some feedback on the gear I used on the 2017 TGO Challenge

Shelter: Tramplite

Overall, I was very pleased with the performance of the Tramplite. The conditions weren’t hugely testing, but it kept me dry and warm. It’s easy to pitch, especially the flysheet. Compared with a Duomid, it’s less fussy about being level. There’s a decent amount of room in the inner. Having access to a storage area at the back is helpful. I used a lightweight spinnaker Akto footprint, which meant the rear area had a floor. Not strictly necessary but handy. The footprint also protected the cuben groundsheet from pucture. Again, not strictly necessary but a sensible precaution. There is also a decent sized porch on the door side for cooking and storage. My custom made valances were a good addition, especially when the wind flipped around 180 degrees on Loch Affric. I used my trekking pole A frame which made it rock solid and takes away any obstruction for access. The valances and tweaks have increased the weight to 772g plus 48g for the A frame top piece. 820g for a bomber tent is pretty good.

Were there any drawbacks? I think the only one is that compared with the Scarp 1, which I used on previous Challenges, it is more cramped in the inner and packing inside in rain is more taxing. Also you have to get used to the inner fabric being close to your face when sleeping. However, it is half the weight of the Scarp. How does it compare with a Duomid? It’s more aerodynamic, quicker and easier to pitch. The rear porch is great for storing stuff out of the way. The only disadvantage is that there’s not so much headroom. That said, there’s not a lot to choose between them. What would I choose next time? If I prioritised weight it would be the Tramplite. If I wanted comfort, it would be the Scarp.

Sleeping bag: As Tucas Foratata Quilt

Hopefully this will go into production soon. I’ve become a huge fan of this and the Challenge comfirmed it as my favourite sleeping bag. It weighs 510g with 250g of top quality down. The down is superb and even better than my Western Mountaineering bags. It’s basically the same design as the Sestrals quilt but using down.  It has an enclosed foot box. The open section has three kam snap closures. I’ve added two more, making a more snug closure.

It is a bit different to a conventional sleeping bag. Even closed, it is much wider, so when turning over, you can move inside the bag easily, keeping the kam snaps under you. Although it doesn’t have a hood, it is long, so you wrap the upper part around your head. I’m a cold sleeper. For me it’s fine down to 2-3c before I need extra insulation.

Until you’ve tried one it’s difficult to describe how much nicer it is sleeping in one of these than a conventional sleeping bag. I’m a restless side sleeper. For me, it is much less restrictive than a conventional sleeping bag, especially in the knee area. I love the freedom of movement and being able to wrap it over my head. I should also mention that the Schoeller shell fabric is the best I’ve used. It’s soft and warm (but not sweaty) to the touch. It’s very downproof as well. So far I’ve had no feathers escape.

I was worried that the snap fastener opening might be draughty, but with two extra snaps, it’s performed well. Because there’s a lot of room to move about, it’s easy to keep the opening underneath you. I’m really pleased with this bag. Other than possibly winter, I’ll be using most, if not all of the time. I used it with a Thermarest X-Lite short air mat, which worked well.

Rucksack: Gossamer Gear Mariposa (2012 version)

I’ve used the Mariposa a lot over the years and reviewed it several times. The only difference this year was the new hipbelt, which is definitely better than the old one. It’s stiffer and wraps around your hips better improving the carry. The pockets are larger and better too. The only other thing to note is that I tore the stretch mesh pocket when we bushwacked through the forest on the first day. I patched it temporarily with McNett Tenacious Tape but I’m not sure how to repair it. I may have to get it done professionally.

Footwear: Salomon X-Ultra Mid GTX

As I mentioned in the previous post, I was quite concerned about how my feet would hold up to a fourteen day walk. In the event, my feet were fine and the X-Ultras performed beyond expectations. I bought a new pair specifically for the Challenge and experimented with going a full one and a half sizes up from my normal shoe size 9.5 vs 8.

For the first time in probably seven or eight years I didn’t suffer from bruised toes. Deep joy. I used Sidas Conformable footbeds which I’ve had kicking around for years and they worked really well in conjunction with the X-Ultras. Even with road walking, my feet never felt tired or battered.

Personally, I like mid boots. They give a good compromise between trail shoes and boots. They have the flexibility and mobility of trail shoes but give some protection against rolling your ankle. I did go over on my ankle once and the boot saved me from a worse sprain. Mid boots also give a bit more protection from water and debris ingress.

In fact, I was really impressed by the combination of breathability and waterproofing. My feet never got excessively sweaty even when it was hot, nor when the outer shell was wet. I think this is partly due to the lower cut than a normal boot so damp air gets pumped out.

What really impressed me was how they performed in wet weather. In the past, my experience with GTX footwear is that your feet stay reasonably dry in wet weather for three or four hours before the membrane gets overwhelmed and then your feet end up being quite damp. On day 9, when it rained all day, at the end of the day, when I took my boots off, my socks were only slightly damp and certainly a lot drier than my experience in the past. I think there were a number of factors in this.

Firstly, I was using Bridgedale Woolfusion Trekker socks plus my usual M&S merino suit socks. The Trekkers are a combination of lamb’s wool and nylon/polymide and seem to wick moisture better and dry a lot quicker than pure merino socks. They even dried out so well overnight that I was able to use one pair three days in a row. The M&S merino suit socks are also a combination of wool and synthetic. This combination worked really well and my feet were very happy all Challenge.

The second factor that helped in the wet was my gaiters. I’ve been using a pair of Extremities Trekagaiters recently. They are reasonably lightweight (150g), very breathable and surprisingly robust. Wearing some gaiters stops the upper part of the boot from wetting out, helping breathability.

Lastly, I waterproofed the material on the toe cap area with a thin coat of Silnet. On black boots it is hardly noticeable cosmetically, but it means the vulnerable toe area of the boot doesn’t wet out. It doesn’t seem to affect the overall breathability of the boot much.

I was blown away by the performance of the boots and socks. Outside of very hot weather, when I’d use trail shoes, this is the combination I will be using. The only two negatives are that the rubber soles wear quite quickly and occasionally the grip is not perfect. Those are minor issues compared with the overall comfort of the X-Ultras.

7 thoughts on “TGO Challenge 2017: Gear Part 1”

  1. Very helpful , Robin . Did you find the new idea of fixing the frame directly into the new hip belt made much difference ?

    1. I think it provides a much more positive connection and feels like more weight is being taken by the hip belt. Certainly a lot better than the old hip belt.

  2. Thanks Robin. I think I will get one from Bob. Congratulations by the way
    on completing another crossing and a good write up.

  3. I also found the Salomon X-Ultra Mid GTX 2 superb again this year, for the second time on a TGOC. In fact the pair I used this time were even better than the last. These slightly revamped versions seem to be even better at keeping your feet dry. Mine never got wet once despite a few days walking in rain and wet conditions underfoot. In future I will be running several pairs of these at ay time, with spares ready to go. Really cannot fault them at all. If I was to be really picky I find that the outer sheath of the laces frays after about 3-400 miles. But Laces are disposable items, so no big deal.,

    1. I’ve just ordered another pair when I spotted them being sold cheap. I was amazed how dry my feet were. I think the socks helped too. Going up 1.5 sizes seems to have cured bruised toes too. Very pleased with them.

Leave a comment

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.