TGO Challenge 2017: Gear Part 2

Clothing

My hardshell waterproofs were an OMM Cypher Smock and Rab Drillium overtrousers, both discontinued. Both are eVent fabric and kept me dry and comfortable on day 9, when it rained all day. I also took a Paramo Quito jacket which I treat as a soft shell jacket. It’s perfect for showery, windy days or light rain. I love the large vents, long sleeves and hood. At 500g, it’s not heavy as a soft shell, more water-resistant than many competitors and is a very versatile jacket. It packs quite small as well. I’m glad I took it. My windproof jacket was an Arcteryx Squamish jacket, which is the best windproof I own. The material has a lovely feel to it. It’s decently water-resistant. It seems to breathe well while keeping out the wind. It also has an excellent hood and velcro/elasticated cuffs which can be pushed up when hot. Again, glad I took it.

For insulation I took a Haglofs LIM Barrier smock, Arcteryx Delta Zip fleece and Arcteryx Phase AR leggings coupled with As Tucas Millaris windproof trousers. The weather was very mild, so this combination was adequate. However, I did miss my As Tucas Sestrals insulated trousers and, in future, I’d take those instead or in addition to leggings. I used the leggings to sleep in but they were also useful instead of trousers under overtrousers. I’d probably take a warmer top too, either my Berghaus Furnace jacket or PHD Minimus. The Arcteryx Delta fleece was perfect. It’s a 100 fleece with a grid pattern on the face. It was very versatile. Gridded fleeces seem to regulate temperature well. The sleeves can be pushed part way up your arms, further helping temperature regulation. It’s so good I’ve bought a second one.

Base layers were Rohan Ultra silver T-shirts (2), Rohan Union merino T, M&S Ultra hipster trunks, Adidas running shorts. I love the thin Ultra silver T’s. They feel like silk and evaporate sweat so quickly. They wash and dry quickly too. Mine are the first iteration, which seem to be more smell resistant than later versions. Having two was probably a luxury. The Union merino T is excellent as well. It uses a merino/polyester fabric and dries much faster than pure merino. It seems to regulate body temperature better too. Up to a point, it’s pretty smell resistant. I was pleased with the versatility that my upper base layers gave me and they were easy to launder too. My M&S  hipster trunks are favourites (now discontinued). I prefer synthetic trunks to merino as they dry much quicker. They don’t seem to smell much either. I usually take a pair of running shorts in case I need shorts, for sleeping and as spare underwear if I need them. Would I do anything differently? Accidentally I took three pairs of trunks. I could manage with two, although having a spare was nice. I could probably manage with only one Ultra T too.

Other clothing. I took a Montane Terra Sportwool long sleeve top for around camp and to sleep in. I also took a Rohan Pacific shirt in case it was hot and for something smarter in hotels. Both are no longer made, but both are quite light and I like the flexibility/luxury of them. I used Montane Terra trousers. For me, these are just the best backpacking trousers. I had a Smartwool merino beanie that I mainly used to sleep in. During the day, I mainly wore an OR Sunrunner cap. I took three pairs of gloves and never used any of them! I took a microfibre and a Polartech  buff. The microfibre one doubled as a cover for my Exped inflatable pillow.

Trekking poles: Leki Sherpa XL

These are the best poles I’ve ever had. Incredibly strong and sturdy. Ok they weigh just over 500g for a pair but they don’t seem heavy. In fact the extra weight seems to give them better balance in your hands than lighter poles. The flick locks are better than the Black Diamond poles I have. The foam handles are really comfortable and the cloth wrist straps are comfortable against the handles if you don’t have them over your wrists (I don’t usually bother). They are brilliant for the A frame for my Tramplite shelter.

Miscellaneous.

For shoes around camp etc. I used Vibrobarefoot Ultra Pure shoes. They worked well and were surprisingly comfortable. I could’ve used them for wading in conjunction with Reed Chilleater waders if necessary, but didn’t need to. I used my cheapo M&S collapsible umbrella several times and was glad I took it. I’m impressed with the new Petzl e+lite head torch. It’s much brighter than the old version. I didn’t use it much as the hours of daylight are so long, but it’s great as a lightweight torch. The Sawyer mini filter was mainly for peace of mind, as most water in the Highlands is potable, but it’s so light that I’d rather be safe than sorry. I use a Fozzils folding dog bowl (37g) for washing if I’m away from a stream or it’s raining outside. For minimal extra weight it means that washing either face or hands is much more convenient.

Full Gear List (first day):

One thought on “TGO Challenge 2017: Gear Part 2”

Leave a Reply

