Lake District May 2011

This was another trip which had to be changed because of bad weather, a bit of a theme recently. My original intention had been to camp at Hollins in Eskdale, then walk over Harter Fell to Seathwaite Tarn on day one. For day two I was going to climb Coniston Old Man then walk the ridge to Swirl How, cross Wrynose Pass to camp at Red Tarn. Day three was going to be a traverse of Crinkle Crags and Bowfell returning to base via Eskdale. However, heavy rain on the night of the first day and into the second meant my second day was a washout and I stayed at Seathwaite Tarn. My revised route envisaged doing the Coniston Old Man to Swirl How ridge but hill fog persuaded me to use the Walna Scar Road back to the Duddon Valley then over to Eskdale using the path south of Harter Fell

River Esk

Familiar view from Harter Fell

River Duddon

Seathwaite Tarn

Day two clouds at Seathwaite Tarn

Day three, view from Goat’s Hause

View from the top of Walna Scar Road towards Harter Fell

Dodgy stepping stones (which I declined to use!)

View from below Harter Fell north

Looking back towards Harter Fell

Not an action packed few days, but a nice stroll nonetheless. I’ll upload the complete set of photos to Picasa soon.

11 thoughts on “Lake District May 2011”

  1. After a horrific few months at work I have two days to get away after dropping the Little One and Mrs M off at daycare and work respectively. Haven’t been to the Brecons for a while so quite fancy that – perhaps the less well-travelled west. Really looking forward to getting out of London…

  2. That was a nice route you had planned! I seemed to spend most of last summer sat on the bus to Coniston and walking North by various routes!
    Red Tarn is a great pitch, the views over to Wetherlam are amazing.
    Have pitched above Seatwaite Tarn at Goats Hawse, the view over to the Scafells was awesome. I spent ages drying me socks that night only to get both feet wet within minutes of setting off down to Tarn the next morning — it’s wet there!!

    1. TBH the weather is part of the fun. With those kinds of walks it doesn’t matter what happens because you can be flexible. It’s always good to be in the hills, especially wild camping.

  3. I quite envy you getting away for a few days Robin, in spite of the weather. I am holed up at present due to foot injury , so have had to call off a trip to Knoydart for the moment. Am still waiting for my G.Gear Gorilla to arrive from the states (via Winwood ) so just as well -it’s been well over 2 months now.
    I did your intended route about 20 years ago , some great views and good camping spots. I remember toiling up the old man in early April ,blessed (or not ) with temp of 85F !
    Pretty rare for those sort of temperatures in the lakes. Had no rain for about 8 days , even on the tops.
    Ah – memories …..!

  4. Robin, a good walking area, pity you had to change your plans, but rain is part of being out there. Good for testing gear to see if it is up to scratch 🙂

Leave a comment

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.