I almost did it

I almost put my application in for next year’s TGO Challenge. I had filled out the form and written the cheque. However, on reflection, on-going family health issues suggest that I may face the prospect of having to pull out at the last moment. I’m not sure I could stand the disappointment, so I’ve decided not to put my entry form in. It’s easier for me to arrange some shorter walks where it is not so critical if I cancel.

Last year I had booked to go up to the Cairngorms in October, but had to cancel with only a few days to go. Fortunately, I got most of my money back on the sleeper ticket. This year, if I go anywhere, it will be the Lakes in two weeks time. Otherwise that’s it for me this year. No other time works until late November. If I go to the Lakes, I can do it at the last moment. All the kit is in the back bedroom, ready to go. All I need is a bit of food and I’d be off.

At least I’ve done some decent walks this year, even if it was less than I’d planned. Walking for five days in the Cairngorms in May without a single drop of rain was amazing. Next year I’m thinking of walking from Strathcarron to Fort William and doing a stretch of the Pennine Way. While it’s all contingent on an improving health situation (not mine, I hasten to add), I’m hopeful that next year will be better than this year.

4 thoughts on “I almost did it”

  1. Keep your kit handy and grab any last minute opportunities when they arise. Sometimes that’s all you can do. Nothing worse than planning and working towards a trip that you then have to cancel.

    I’m plodding along the PW in May, you’re welcome to squelch alongside if you mange to find the time.

  2. I couldn’t agree more with Martin. You’ll enjoy it better no doubt having the peace of mind knowing family are well at home whilst you’re out. A right and honorable decision all round.

Leave a comment

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.