A parasite?

I listened to Andy Howell’s podcast with Mark Richards recently, discussing our relationship with the landscape and local communities. I started to consider whether my recent trip to the Cairngorms had benefited the local community in any way. In all honesty I have to say that I spent very little locally, principally as I was in the mountains for five days. My only financial contribution to the community was one taxi fare, a few minor purchases in Tescos and WH Smith in Aviemore and a meal in the restaurant at Aviemore station. From a personal and moral perspective, I don’t think this is good enough, so I’ve resolved to try to find a way to give something back to the community in some way.

I’m sending a cheque to the Cairngorm Mountain Rescue Team as one contribution to the community (and an appropriate one). I was wondering what other worthy local causes there might be. A brief internet search didn’t reveal much. If I can’t find anything local, I’ll donate something to the John Muir Trust.  From now on I intend to make an assessment each trip as to how much I’ve contributed to the local economy and if I judge it to be insufficient, I’m going to make a donation to a local cause.

11 thoughts on “A parasite?”

  1. Maybe look at locally made kit from http://www.cioch-direct.co.uk or http://www.cioch-direct.co.uk or give shops like Braemar Mountain Sports your business – and what about food!! I’m in Scotland, in the hills many days a year, we are surrounded by venison, lamb, all sorts of game, salmon, oatmeal, honey, raspberries, great cheeses, 3 wild oceans full of fish – buy our food! Eat it on the hills! Even more so at home! Coincidentally just had some herring in oatmeal for my tea – great food, incredibly cheap and nutritious. Another thing you might enjoy is staying in bunkhouses or hostels (or fancier accomodation if you can afford it) and getting into daywalking – leave the camping clobber and all the weight behind and have a different kind of trip. Then you can eat local food too. Or take some kind of skills course – winter skills say, or scrambling, with a local guide – which can be a really good experience. All these things put money into the local economy.

  2. Good points. Although I’d love to stay in local accomodation, take courses etc. , but with my limited time, I want to maximise my time backpacking/wild camping. Perhaps this is where long distance trips like the TGOC benefit the economy more as participants do shop locally and stay in B&Bs, hotels etc.

    I just want to make sure that I’m not just taking, but giving as well.

  3. I live in Scotland…if you send me the money, I’ll spend it locally for you next time I’m in Braemar.

    What’d be the name for this sort of “carbon-offset” stuff? Guilt trip?

  4. Let me emphasise that this is a personal decision. What others want to do is up to them.

  5. I do understand with the personal decision statement but do go along with the stance Duncan has made. While visiting an area it is about freedom to choose where and what to spend not pressure to put in to the community because it is rural or local.

  6. Robin, so long as you didn’t feel bullied into making your choice, is it – as you said – your personal choice.

    If people provide a service to the consumer, then great. If the local MRT has a donation box in a shop, then great – have it on the trailhead for that “just in case” feeling. I have joined a few organisations because I don’t like sponging off the services they provide. I wasn’t bullied into it. No-one said “if you use a bothy, then you must join the MBA”. I just like being part of the entities that are doing their bit.

    A fine line? Maybe.

  7. Duncan, it is a fine line indeed. However, I don’t fell bullied into doing this. Mark’s interview was celebrating the symbiosis of walkers and the rural communities. In that spirit, I want to be a positive agent, however small to help that symbiosis. I want to give as well as take. In this I’m not setting myself as an example or a paragon, just sharing a personal response to an issue that I’d not given any thought to previously.

Leave a comment

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.