TGO Challenge 2017: Day 14

click to enlarge

Distance: 19km, ascent: 206m

I woke to a cloudless sky.  By the time Dave and I had sorted ourselves out, the other two were long gone. Our aim was to try to get to Stonehaven for lunch.

The first part of the forest track was partly covered with some fallen trees, so we had to divert into the forest a couple of times.

After a couple of kilometers, I felt a slight pain in my knee. This is the first time I’ve had any problems in a knee for probably over ten years. All that time, I’ve carried a Bioskin knee support just in case. Now I had a chance to use it! I put it on and instantly the issue was resolved.

We happily trundled along a number of tracks, noting that there weren’t a huge number of places to camp, but there were a couple of spots where it was feasible

Eventually we made it to Mergie and out of the forest. I know there are some fans of the Feterresso, but I’m afraid I’m not one of them. I don’t think I’ll be back, especially with the wind farm right in the middle.

Our route now took us along a minor road to Cheyne Hill.

Eventually we had some views of Stonehaven and the sea.

It seemed a long walk through Stonehaven to the beach. On the way we stopped to get a drink from a convenient petrol station shop as it was getting hot under a cloudless sky.

Just before 1:30 we reached the beach and our journey’s end.

After some congratulations we found a cafe and had some lunch. Instead of walking back up the hill to the station, we splashed out on a taxi. It was only a short train ride to Montrose and on to the Park Hotel to sign in at Challenge Control.

That’s three successful TGO Challenges now. Will I do more? I’m sure I will, although probably not every year. A big thanks to Ali and Sue for organising, also to all those at Challenge Control and the vetters for making it happen. Thanks also to all those I had the pleasure of walking with. Despite a shaky start, in the end, I enjoyed it.

7 thoughts on “TGO Challenge 2017: Day 14”

  1. Congratulations on your crossing. I hope to gain entry for next year with a backpacking buddy of mine. Can I ask if that is a Trailstar made by Colin Ibbotson? I am saving the cash to comission on when he returns for next year’s crossing. What did you think of it?

    1. Yes, it’s the Tramplite shelter by Colin, but the grey valances were made by a friend of mine and are not standard. There’s a very long waiting list, I’m afraid.

  2. I know about the waiting list – I’m kicking myself as this year when he was home, one of his customers dropped out and he offered the slot to me. I didn’t have enough cash! Still, I have other shelters including a Trekkertent Stealth with solid or mesh inner, a 6 Moons Skyscape Trekker and my faithful Laser Comp. Great photos by the way – gives such a flavour of the terrain and the great people you meet en-route. Might see you next May!

  3. Hi Robin
    Only just persuaded myself to read your report (been finding it hard to catch up with everyone’s adventures, I’m sure you’ll understand) and it was nice to follow your route and recognise so much of it. Glad you enjoyed it in the end!
    Louise

    1. Thanks. I’ve been looking at your route from Lochailort and wondering whether to steal some of the start.

      1. It was a great start! Not easy (for me anyway) but felt very rewarding. Although like most I’m not a fan of road walking, a couple of k easy walking was a good warm up for the climb. The camp once off the ridge was even better than I’d planned, with the hotel for a pitstop and finding out we could camp in the field behind the church. When we passed my planned stop I was so happy we’d stopped early!
        I have some details of the route from Marion Parsons if you’d like.

Leave a Reply

