TGOC 2017 the next 5 days

I’m in Braemar now. From Ft Aggie, I went through the Stronelairg wind farm development. What a catastrophe! Absolutely appalling. The only merit was a wonderful camp site at Chalybeate Spring setting me up for the next day. As if to make up for the horror of the previous day, the weather was superb for walking along the ridge on the northern side of the Spey. Even the afternoon showers missed me. To cap it all, I had a superb camping spot below Am Bodach. Resupply at Kingussie a bit limited but the walk along the lower Feshie was lovely, culminating in another great camp spot beneath a tree, giving me protection from the evening rain. Yesterday it rained nearly all day but not too heavily. My umbrella and the beauty of the Feshie was compensation. Today was a shortish walk into Braemar, lunch, then camp at the well appointed camp site. So far all is well. Even my Salomon X Ultras kept my feet dry yesterday. I’m generally using my iPhone for bad weather photos, so there’s not a great selection for live blogging. 

Camp at Chalybeate Spring


Big skies over the Monadhliath

Camp in Glen Feshie


Eidart Falls


Shepherds pie in Braemar

6 thoughts on “TGOC 2017 the next 5 days”

Leave a Reply

