Langstrath and back, part 1

Our daughter wanted to come home from uni for a few days, so it was another opportunity to use the camper van! I toyed with the idea of North Wales, but decided to take the easy option of Braithwaite in the Lake District.

My rough plan was to walk to Langstrath, then possibly over to Coledale Tarn and then back to Braithwaite. In the event, I just walked to Langstrath and back but using different routes.

For early March, Scotgate campsite was quite full with camper vans, motorhomes and caravans. I was glad I’d booked! Before I’d travelled, the weather forecast had been a bit poor, but had cheered up a bit by the time I’d arrived.  It was surprisingly sunny and quite mild when I set off.

After a brief stretch along the A66, I crossed some fields to Little Braithwaite and then followed a good path along Newlands Beck. This is a really lovely walk. Along the way I met a lady with an energetic Collie dog. He laid a stick at my feet, so obliged by throwing it along the path for him.

Leaving Newlands Beck, I followed the lanes to Skelgill. Frustratingly the blue sky was behind me, while the clouds were gathered in the west. From Skelgill, I followed the Terrace Path above Derwent Water. Again, this is a lovely walk, although the best views are in retrospect, rather the in prospect.

Part way along the path, my attention was drawn to a commotion above me on the fellside. An out of control Springer Spaniel was chasing some sheep. It chased one across the path in front of me, nearly knocking over another walker. As it returned up the hill I tried to capture it but it eluded me. It appeared to be reunited with its owner a little later higher up the fell. Hopefully its owner won’t let it loose in future. The sheep were lucky not to be injured.

After the Terrace, there’s a short road walk through Grange, before resuming on a footpath to Castle Crag. Again this is a lovely walk, although the clouds made the light a bit dim for photography. There are some interesting quarries along the way but I didn’t bother to investigate. Part way up the path between Castle Crag and Low Scawdel, I stopped for a bite to eat as it was sheltered from the wind.

I was tempted to go up Castle Crag, but decided instead to push on. I stayed high, crossing Tongue Gill by the footbridge. Below was the contrast of the lush green of Borrowdale and the browns of Rosthwaite Fell and Stonethwaite Fell.

Above Seatoller, I glimpsed the snow-capped mass of Great End.

I took the paths to Borrowdale Youth Hostel, then roads to Stonethwaite.

Beyond Stonethwaite, I walked through the empty campsite until I reached Langstrath Beck and turned south.

I’ve not walked along the western side of lower Langstrath before. I knew I could camp at Tray Dub, but was on the look out for a place to pitch before then. A  few hundred meters beyond the bridge, there is a grassy strip on the river bank, which looked ideal.

Although it was a bit early, it was too good a place to pass up, so I decided to camp there.

I’ve not used my F10 Nitro Lite 200 for nearly two years. I was a bit nonplussed when I unpacked it to find that the flysheet was stuck together and I literally had to peel it apart. In the event it was no harm done as the waterproofness didn’t appear to be compromised, keeping me dry in the overnight rain.

I had a rather good view from the tent door!

2 thoughts on “Langstrath and back, part 1”

  1. It’s a lovely low level walk down Borrowdale the way you went. As you know we’ll be revisiting some (much) of this route next month. I’m looking forward to it.

Leave a Reply

