Coledale

Last week I took our daughter back to Manchester Uni, so it was an excuse to steal another couple of days in the Lake District using my totally brilliant Wellhouse Toyota Alphard camper van. I parked myself at Scotgate campsite in Braithwaite, which I’ve used on numerous occasions.

dsc02866Not surprisingly, there weren’t many people at the campsite.

dsc02868There was plenty of snow on the hills and a chilly breeze so I decided a saunter up Coledale would be a pleasant diversion.

dsc02870The mine track made for easy walking.

dsc02873In the shade it was perishing cold!

dsc02877I’ve never been to Force Crag mine before. It’s being restored by the National Trust. The wind almost blew me off my feet, so goodness knows what it was like on the tops.

dsc02879It was too cold and windy to hang around so I turned round and walked back the way I’d come.

dsc02869Back down the valley in the sunshine, it was quite pleasant.

dsc02880It was nice to get back to the warmth of the van for a late lunch. Luxury!

2 thoughts on “Coledale”

Leave a Reply

