Keswick C&CC Campsite

img_1966On my recent trip to the Lake District, I stayed at the Keswick C&CC campsite. In the past, I’ve stayed at the Scotgate campsite in Braithwaite, but I thought I’d give the Keswick site a go instead. The big advantage of the Keswick site is that it’s only a short walk into Keswick itself and there’s a good Booth’s supermarket close by. It’s also a bit cheaper than Scotgate if you’re solo and a C&CC member (which I am).

img_1970Not surprisingly, it’s really well setup for camper vans, with excellent hard standing pitches and electric hook ups. There’s a good amount of space between pitches too. When I was there, there weren’t many vans, so I could park myself well away from anyone else. The downside was I parked myself well away from the shower block, which was a bit of a mistake!

img_1988The shower block facilities were pretty good, with a good number of shower cubicles, sinks and toilets. A second shower block was closed, but would be needed if the site had more occupants. The facilities were not quite up to the standard of Scotgate, which wouldn’t shame a hotel. Unlike Scotgate, WiFi is not free and you have to pay extra.

img_1973The camp site is in a wonderful position between the River Greta and the shore of Derwent Water, with beautiful views across the lake towards Borrowdale. The drawback with its position, however, is that there is a risk of flooding. For this reason, vehicles and tents are not allowed to be unattended overnight in case there is a need to evacuate.

While I can understand this requirement, for me, it’s a bit of a deal breaker. It would prevent me from doing some backpacking and overnight camping in the fells. This probably means that I’ll be going back to Scotgate if I want to do backpacking trips. Fortunately, for this trip, I’d only intended to do a couple of day walks.

img_1986The site is open to both camper vans and tents and welcomes backpackers too. The warden and staff were very friendly and helpful. Overall, it’s a really nice place to stay, just a shame you can’t leave your van overnight.

More details here: Keswick C&CC Campsite

(Please note there’s a second, smaller C&CC site next door, Derwentwater Campsite)

Leave a Reply

