Exped Thunder 70 mods

It’s a rare bit of gear that doesn’t suffer some modifications. Here’s what I’ve done to my Exped Thunder 70 pack.

1) Shoulder strap daisy chain. I used quite thin (10mm) grosgrain so I can attach lightweight items to one shoulder strap if I want.


2) Shoulder dry pocket attachment. Like my Lightwave Ultrahike, I’ve sewn a piece of webbing so I can attach a Berghaus dry pocket camera pouch.


I could put a camera in the hip belt pockets, but it would be unprotected, so I prefer this arrangement.

3) Hip belt map case loops.

 As an alternative to attaching a map case to the shoulder strap, I’ve seen two grosgrain loops on one hip belt pocket. Two shock cord loops with cord grips secure an Ortlieb map case.

To ensure the loops are securely attached, the top seam is sewn to the zip backing. Logically it would be better to have horizontal loops rather than vertical but they might tear the fabric of the pocket.

All quite simple, but adds to the utility of the Thunder.

One thought on “Exped Thunder 70 mods”

Leave a Reply

