Tarptent Scarp 1 mk3

Henry Shires has just announced some changes to the Scarp 1: a wider adjustable inner tent, new inner tent pockets and a stronger pole.

The new inner uses a similar system to the Moment DW so it can be adjusted to fit two sleeping mats. This means you can choose whether to have two porches or to have a wider inner with only one porch. According to a comment by Henry on the Trek Lite forum, this adds about 30g to the weight.

Although there is more than adequate interior space in the Mk2 Scarp, I can see that it might be useful to have some extra space. I like the idea of having the option of more room or a free porch.

Better inner tent pockets is a good move as the old ones were of little use. A stronger pole is also a good upgrade, although I’ve already got a stronger pole that I took from a defunct Marmot tent I used to own.

It’s great to see a manufacturer making sensible upgrades to an existing design that is already very good. I still think the Scarp 1 is one of the best tents ever made. While there is an option to buy and retro fit the inner, I think I’ll probably wait to see whether there are any other developments before considering replacing my existing Scarp. You can find my long-term review of the Scarp 1 here .

29 thoughts on “Tarptent Scarp 1 mk3”

  1. As a big guy (6’4″ and not exactly svelt) I thought the Mk1 was a bit too much like a coffin, but this looks like it should address that problem for me. Thanks for the heads-up, this could now be the tent I’ve been waiting for 🙂

  2. Would love it if they made the fly with opposing doors…. that would be perfect for me… seriously, the scarp is the only tent ive owned that if it got lost, stolen or destroyed, I’d replace it with another without a second thought.

    1. He’s definitely looking at other changes like the vents as well. I’ve asked him to consider a stronger pole sleeve and double side guys.

  3. Opposing doors would really spoil it for me. A deal breaker. I use the Scarp in rain and wind. Handicapping it by making one door the opposite way round seems counterproductive as one door will then become less useable in bad weather? Wind rarely swings around a full 180 degrees in the middle of the night. ( sometimes at sundown I suppose).

    1. I’m in two minds about opposing doors. I have experienced 180 degree changes in wind, but not often. Henry certainly hasn’t indicated that he will do so. I do think the pole sleeve should be stronger with double tie outs on each side like the Akto.

      1. Exactly my thoughts. My main concerns with the Scarp would be stronger side guys like the Akto. It adds so much more structural strength to it for high winds in case of wind change.

    2. If it’s meant as a 1 person tent then opposing doors make absolute sense. You only ever use one door, so why not have the option to change if the weather changes direction. I can see your point with a two-person tent however where both doors are used.

      1. With one side of the pole being permanently fixed material i agree with you John that opposing doors is correct way to go. IMO
        But, if its really windy then it can be a bit of a wind tunnel with both doors open. What about zipped doors on both sides of the pole?

  4. I often use both doors – if you have 2 why not use them. Otherwise I’d have bought a one doored tent;). I have been able to sit in my Scarp in wind (and even light rain) and chill/cook dinner with both doors open. Not possible if one is opposing. Also, can cook in one porch and exit/enter through the other if need to do something else (It’s perfectly safe with a cone or trangia) . The times the wind rotates 180 degrees are very few. It happens regularly at dusk in certain weather – especially on a coast or in a valley, but that is predictable and can be planned for. Also, can have more privacy with both door open if camping with others. I have used both types of tents extensively and thought about it and, for me opposing doors are of limited appeal.

    Also, we use our Scarp 1 as a 2 person tent now and then. And as the new one is designed for that, why oppose the doors and let one user suffer in the wind?

  5. Ordered my own scarp 1 yesterday and glad that I’m getting this newer version of what is easily a fabulous tent. Can’t wait to get it up and play. Bookmarked a few of your mods to put into action on mine!

  6. Got mine 2 days ago. Unfortunately the rain and garden flooding and work put the scuppers on a test. Itching to get out with it, just a shame customs didn’t allow it through before I did a wildcamp at Grisedale tarn in the snow. Get to use it in Snowdonia at the end of the month for a whole week, which should give me a realistic idea of how good this tent is.

      1. Cheers Robin. So swap out the corner cord for more effective line locking, what about the main pole guys? Haven’t looked to see if there are any for the pole, but 2mm or 3mm for that? What about pegs… Swap for V-Pegs? If so, titanium or aluminium?

      2. 2mm cord, especially the stuff Tarpent uses is prone to slipping when wet. Lineloc 3s are designed to use 3mm cord, hence MLD supply their shelters with 3mm cord. Something like this : https://www.cygnus-sails.com/item-English_Braids_Dinghy_And_Kite_Dyneema_3mm_450Kgs_Breaking_Load.html. The corners give structure to the Scarp and are under a lot of tension. I use Easton gold pegs. For the end middle guys and the pole hoop, I use 2mm and titanium pins as there’s less stress on these. I recommend the pole arch tensioning https://blogpackinglight.wordpress.com/2013/04/29/revised-scarp-pole-arch-tension-system/ and the door threshold cord as well https://blogpackinglight.wordpress.com/2013/04/30/scarp-mods-summary-part-1-major-mods/ . One last thing that is worth doing is to reinforce the stitching on the hoop guy tie outs https://blogpackinglight.wordpress.com/2014/05/03/scarp-scare/

      1. Say for example the tent costs $200, a break down of charges would look like this. Import duty £19.98, excise duty £0, VAT £35.99, parcel force handling fee £8. Total of £63.27.
        Hope this helps.
        P.S. My tent was held by customs for 2 weeks.

  7. Did a quick pitch in the garden in order to seam seal the outer. Quick to set up, loving the adjustable inner and what a difference in how light it is inside the tent. The boxed walls make the whole floor space usable, having 2 porches allows so many options for storage and cooking. Was a bit unsure of the cross poles to begin with. This was due to the creaking and uncertainty of their flexibility to begin with. Just the guy replacements and pole guys to buy before the next trip, once home again the mods will begin.

      1. I’ll be keeping an eye on the forecast for Snowdon nearer the time. If it looks like bad weather I’ll take the poles. At 340 grams, they might be worth taking. Trying to keep weight down as we’re climbing too.

Leave a Reply

