Kindle Voyage

 
I’ve had a standard Amazon Kindle for a couple of years. I’m slightly ambivalent about E-readers. On the one hand, they are very convenient and easy to hold. Getting a new book is very quick. On the other hand, you can’t flick backwards and forwards like you can with a paper book. They’re not very good for pictures or diagrams either.

However, for backpacking, they are ideal. My old Kindle developed a small flaw on the screen, so I decided to buy a new one. Instead of buying the basic Kindle again, I decided the Paperwhite version would be better as it doesn’t require an extra light for reading in low light.

I chose to buy the Kindle Voyage rather than the ordinary Paperwhite version. Although it is quite a bit more expensive, it is slightly lighter and smaller and has a pressure sensor for page turns (as well as a touch screen page turn).

I’ve been using it for a few days now, and really like it. The white background is definitely easier to read than the gray background of the basic Kindle. Being able to read in low light without an external light is a significant advantage (handy in a tent). I like the pressure sensitive page turn as well. The shaped back makes it more comfortable to hold than the original Kindle.

I bought the WiFi only version. Whether the Voyage is worth the extra money over the Paperwhite is open to debate. The premium seems a bit excessive. However, I’m pleased with it. Weight is 177g (168g for my old Kindle), which is lighter than a 250 page paperback.

Disclaimer: the Kindle Voyage was purchased with my own money and I have no relationship with Amazon.

17 thoughts on “Kindle Voyage”

  1. After my Kobo reader broke on the last walk, I bought a Kindle Voyager. It was a big decision as the two eco-systems are not compatible, but I’m glad I moved.

    The best thing about the Voyager is the auto-adjusting backlight. With 3g and wifi disabled, the reader’s battery seems to last an age. Have yet to take it out on a hike, but I am looking forward to see how it handles in the field.

      1. Nope. If I think it is going to be a problem I carry a back up battery.
        The convenience of the multifuntionality of the mini iPad is worth some downsides and I prefer reading on it to the Kindle which sits unloved in a drawer somewhere although, as I said, I prefer a book.
        I am thinking of rolling the iPad and iPhone into one with an iPhone 6 shortly if my daughter continues to find it a good experience.

  2. The Voyage appears to be about 20g lighter and a few millimetres smaller than a standard Kindle Paperwhite, that retails at c£80. The Voyage costs over double that. Is there any reason why you didn’t just go for the Paperwhite?

    1. I wanted the ambient light feature and the pressure page turn. TBH, while it’s nice, I’m not sure it’s worth the extra money. The weight is really neither here nor there.

      1. Ah OK. You do get a touch screen with the Paperwhite, as well as a (manual) brightness setting. When I saw your blog post, I rushed over to Amazon to see if it was worth buying a Voyager but even a committed kit whore like me couldn’t justify it(!).
        Mind you, I find even a Kindle too bulky for backpacking evening reading and I use the Kindle app on my old iPod Touch.

  3. Just to pick up on your point about not being able to flick back and forth on a Kindle; if the Voyage’s touch screen is similar to the Paperwhite, by placing your finger at the bottom of the screen, you should bring up a scroll bar that you enables you to move back and forth in the book. The page you’re scrolled to appears as a slightly smaller page image within your current page. It takes a bit of practice to get the hang of the scrolling speed but it’s not a bad feature.

    1. Thanks. I miss being able to randomly flick through the pages of a physical book to get the gist of what’s going on. On the other hand, the Kindle is neater and lighter than a paperback for backpacking. It’s also easier to hold if it’s a long book.

  4. I have been thinking of a kindle for a while and was wondering if you are able to make notes using it? I thought it might be useful on multiday hikes putting down thoughts for blogging later.

    1. Not something I’ve tried. You can make notes on books but whether you can use it to take stand alone notes, I don’t know. I’d do it on my iPhone anyway.

Leave a Reply

