Paramo Quito jacket

IMG_1724(2)OK, strictly speaking I don’t need any more Paramo jackets. However, I liked using my Velez Adventure Light on the TGO Challenge but I fancied a jacket with the new style large side zips. The Quito is also 60g lighter at 500g (M, actual weight).

IMG_1725(2)The double ended side venting zips are huge. They can be opened from either end and give appreciably more ventilation compared with the Velez side zips.

IMG_1726(2)The lower part of the zip opens on to a handwarming pocket.

IMG_1728(2)There are also two mesh stowage pockets at chest height. However, they have to accessed by opening the jacket front.

IMG_1731(2)The Velcro cuffs are simpler than on the older jackets. They are lighter, but, personally, I prefer the older style.

IMG_1729(2)The hood can be folded down and secured with a Velcro tab.

IMG_1730(2)The hood is excellent with a wired brim and a snug fit. The front zip rain gutter is much narrower than on older style jackets. It should be OK, but I liked the wide, popper flaps as the zip could be left undone but the jacket front stayed closed.

IMG_1727(2)Paramo have changed the colours recently. I bought a red jacket. It is very red. Almost eye-popping in fact. The outer material is slicker and shinier than my VAL. It’s similar to my Marmot Stride. It’s very soft to the touch.

image1 (1200 x 1200)Paramo have ditched the old style, dangly zip pullers for something more streamlined. The overall fit is slightly less trim than the VAL but not baggy. The sleeves are slightly longer and can be pulled over your hands.

Overall, I’d say it’s a nice jacket. At 500g, it compares well with many medium weight soft shell jackets. However, it’s far superior than almost all. It is much more water-resistant and has much better venting options. It layers beneath my recently acquired large size Marmot Essence.

As I have said before, I regard Paramo as a highly water-resistant soft shell rather than a waterproof. Having said that, it did really well on the Challenge as a waterproof.

The thin fabric of the Quito probably needs to be treated with a bit of care, although, my VAL shows no signs of distress. The Pasco jacket is almost identical to the Quito but uses the heavier weight outer fabric and has an external pocket.

I’ve taken it out on a few dog walks so far and like it. I think the massive side vents are going to be great. I still think the best Paramo jacket is the now discontinued Vasco, but that’s over 200g heavier.

Disclaimer: this jacket was bought with my own money. I have no affiliation or relationship with Paramo.

6 thoughts on “Paramo Quito jacket”

  1. Nice. I had a loan of a Quito from Paramo and I liked it. I’m on my second Velez Light (I uses a Bora and a Pasco too), my only complaint about the light fabric is it’s fairly vulnerable. Not only from falls etc. but on my first VAL strap rub cut through the fabric on the shoulders. Paramo acknowledged that this is a problem with Analogy Light as it ages, however, they patched it with some standard Analogy and it worked really well.

    1. For heavy use I’m sure it’s better to go with the standard weight fabric. The Vasco is still tops, so I won’t be buying a Pasco.

  2. Paramo jackets seem to be very polarizing, in much the same way that Marmite is. I’ve not had the opportunity to try one yet, but I know Chris Townsend raves about them.

    1. They certainly are controversial! I tend to use them as soft shells rather than full on waterproofs. However, I was impressed with the performance on the Challenge. I still think I’d take a lightweight hard shell in addition on longer walks.

Leave a Reply

