Bushbuddy Ultra

The whole wood burning stove craze of a few years ago rather passed me by. However, watching a few videos on Sarek and the PCT made me think that for wilderness treks, a wood burning stove is a very useful bit of gear.

A few weeks ago, someone advertised a Bushbuddy Ultra for sale on OM. Now, the Bushbuddy Ultra is no longer made (although there is a clone available). So I felt this was an unmissable opportunity to buy what is probably the finest lightweight wood burning stove there is.

IMG_1129(2)Included in the price was a Tibetan 1100 titanium pot, into which the Bushbuddy Ultra fits perfectly.  Also included was a fire steel and some Hamaro tinder card (although I actually have a fire steel and some Hamaro anyway).

IMG_1130(2)Both the pot and the Bushbuddy were wrapped in a plastic bag to keep soot from soiling the pot bag or the inside of the pot.

IMG_1131(2)It’s a bit like one of those nesting Russian doll sets!

IMG_1132(2)The Ultra is in mint condition with no dents. Although the metal is quite thin, it feels robust. Having said that, it would be easy to damage if you are careless. The workmanship is first class.

IMG_1133(2)The weights are 138g for the Bushbuddy and 148g for the Tibetan pot. Reading around the reviews of the Bushbuddy, it needs to be shielded from the wind. I do have a folding Aluminium windshield, which looks ideal, weighing 186g. So the complete set up weighs 472g. For flexibility, I think I’d take an Evernew meths burner (35g). This would bring the total weight to 505g. The meths burner fits neatly into the pot support.

IMG_1134(2)At the same time I’ve added to a Wenger Evo 18 Swiss Army Penknife to my collection. This has a mini saw blade, which will be useful for sawing wood if needs be.

I’m looking forward to using the Bushbuddy in the summer. I don’t think it’s really a stove I’d want to use outside summer as it can’t be used in a tent porch in bad weather.

It’s also dependent on being able to find suitable fuel. Nevertheless, it appeals to the boy scout in me and I can see that I might use it in places like Dartmoor. In true wilderness areas, I can see that it would be very useful indeed.

There’s a lot of high quality second-hand gear appearing on various forums etc., so it’s worth keeping an eye open for bargains. Who knows, I might sell some of my surplus gear!

13 thoughts on “Bushbuddy Ultra”

  1. Hi Robin, I’ve tried this and after 2/3 outings decided its not that practical for backpacking UK style. It also takes a lot longer than meths or gas and of course you cannot use it in the tent porch. Its OK for summer base camping and is quite nice to just sit around it with a nice bottle of red.

    1. I’m sure you’re right. It’s more of a fun thing for summer. I’d never rely solely on the BB. Use it in conjunction with a meths stove.

  2. My top tip is not to wear light coloured clothes if you’re as careless as me with the sooty pans! It seemed, on our LEJOG, that within half a day of cleaning my trousers, I would smear soot over them again.

  3. I’ve the Honey stove to play with in the summer, great fun.
    Use sticks no thicker than your finger (dead heather stalks work OK too), also raid any old fire pits for charcoal.
    Get rid of the Evernew meths burner; far tooooooo thirsty; pick up a Starlight clone on ebay far more efficient.

  4. I have used a Bushuddy now for a good few years and it is now the only stove i take. I love the fact its silent when you are cooking and even though its slower i dont mind as i just spend a few more minutes relaxing. Have used it outside the tarp in pouring rain as once the pot is on the top it is protected. Also i carry a small stuff sac of dried wood and tinder for those days when dry wod is hard to find.

  5. It will be interesting to see how it works out. I like the concept of having fuel at hand from natural resources, but I’m not too sure how much hassle they will be to use.

    1. I think it’s an addition rather than the main stove. Ought to work well in combination with a small meths stove. That’s what I’ll do. On the Challenge I’ll take gas though.

  6. Clever stove, I have a Ti Pocket stove which I had a play with and decided wood wasn’t for me, although it worked ok with a Triad too. Mainly for the same reasons as AlanR.
    I think the most versatile set-up is probably the Sidewinder with the wood cone (which I didn’t bother with). Meths and Esbit with a wood option in a small size and weight.

  7. Hey Folks,
    Wood!
    I hope you enjoy it. But you do have to be careful.
    I’m a convert. I trek or tramp or hike mostly in Australia and New Zealand and the risk of fires can be nothing short of extreme
    For the last 3 years 30-50 nights every year I have used the Trail Designs Ti-Tri Sidewinder in a Shallow Evernew Pot. I carry esbits as back up.
    I’ll gather my experiences in my blog soon and I’ll look forward to hearing yours.

    https://lessbaggage.wordpress.com

Leave a Reply

