Deepdale daunder part 2

DSC02087Morning in Deepdale

Apart from being woken up in the middle of the night by a helicopter, I slept well. There was quite a lot of dew on the Trailstar although the night had been quite mild.  It was a pretty amazing place to camp, so I didn’t hurry breakfast and packing.

DSC02094Drumlins and erratics

Eventually I had to pack and go, but I think I’ll be back again. The next hour or so was retracing my steps back to Bridgend.

DSC02099Deepdale looking to Angletarn Pikes

For some strange reason, it seemed a lot easier walking along Deepdale than the previous evening.

DSC02104Wall End

 From Bridgend, it was a quick hop across a field of sheep to the track that led up to Boredale Hause. While it’s a well graded track, it was a sweaty pull. In compensation, there were increasingly attractive views of Glenridding and Ullswater.

DSC02119Glenridding and Ullswater

From Boredale Hause the path turned back on itself towards Angletarn Pikes and Angle Tarn on a high level traverse along Patterdale, with attractive, if hazy views towards Brothers Water and Kirkstone Pass.

 DSC02124Brothers Water

Instead of following the path all the way, I cut up to a higher path under Angletarn Pikes. Conveniently, as Angle Tarn came into a view, there was a large boulder by the side of the path, which I decided would make a good lunch spot.

DSC02125Angle Tarn

Whilst it was very pleasant in the sun, I couldn’t dally for too long as I still had some distance to go to my intended camp spot at Measand Beck.

DSC02127Angle Tarn

The path from here to High Raise was relatively busy with walkers and one lady asked me to take a picture of her with her iPhone.

 DSC02133The Knott and Hayeswater

The path to Satura Crag and The Knott affords some good views on either side of the ridge. The climb up The Knott was rather hot. Half way up, I met a German damsel in distress who was not sure of her navigation. Being the English gentlemen, I showed her the way to Patterdale on her map.

DSC02138High Raise from Rampsgill Head

From just below The Knott, it was a simple left turn and short climb up to Rampsgill Head. It’s a fine view down the valley. I believe the red roofed bungalow was built for the last German Kaiser.

DSC02139Shelter on High Raise

Next stop was High Raise, where I stopped at the shelter. I had a good phone signal so I texted my wife and checked my emails. My original route was to Red Crag and Wether Hill and then down to Measand Beck. However, I spied a quad bike track leading to Low Raise. I reasoned that this must lead to Measand End, so I followed it.

DSC02141Track to Low Raise

The track provided a wonderful contrast to the hard tracks around Angle Tarn and The Knott. Low Raise itself is marked by a cairn and a stone shelter. I made fast progress, homing in on a strange shape on the horizon. This turned out the be a a solitary peat hag, possibly man made.

DSC02145The peat hag

From here, the path started to drop down sharply towards Measand End, giving fine views of the Haweswater Dam. The water levels were the lowest that I’ve seen them.

DSC02148Haweswater Dam

The track down to Measand Beck became increasingly steep and must be quite scary on a quad bike.

DSC02150Measand Beck

I was tempted to find a camping spot in the valley, but there weren’t any suitable spots other than on the path by the bridge. I knew I could camp near the water slide a little way up the valley.

DSC02156Water slide and sheep folds

It didn’t take long to get to the sheep folds near the water slide. Next to the beck, there is an area of rough pasture that is suitable for camping. It seems this patch is getting rougher and rougher with thistles and mole hills over the years.

DSC02158Camp at Measand Beck

Fortunately there is still an area which is flat enough to pitch on. Although not as wild as Deepdale, Measand Beck still has a feeling of remoteness, despite being only a mile from Haweswater.

DSC02166View towards Haweswater

The night was very mild and I woke to clouds. This meant there was very little dew on the Trailstar and it was easier to pack. By 8:30, I was on my way.

DSC02175Waterfall at Measand End

I love the walk down the waterfalls at Measand. Very picturesque. By the time I reached the main path along Haweswater that leads to The Rigg and the car park, there was dampness in the air and a few stray spots of rain.

DSC02178Haweswater looking towards Mardale Head

There was hardly any breeze and the muggy weather bought out the insects. It was fine while I was walking, but every time I stopped, they gathered.

DSC02184The Rigg and Branstree

As I neared the end of Haweswater, the weather changed to a light drizzle.

DSC02189Murky weather!

Whenever I leave the car for a few nights in a public car park, I always have a bit of apprehension returning in case something has happened. However, from some way off I spotted that the car was still there. Just before the car park, I had to to negotiate a field full of sheep.

DSC02194Lots of sheep

Back at the car, it was a quick change of clothes and then off home. All in all, it had been a nice little trip with good weather and a stunning camp at Deepdale.

11 thoughts on “Deepdale daunder part 2”

  1. Taking the wrong inner is a new one on me, quite spectacular really!. Excellent improvisation though, it worked out fine.
    The Low Raise route is a good one, pleasant to walk on and little used. Your Measand Beck pitch spot must be close to ours years ago, though ours had more cotton grass and dense midges.

    1. I was worried there might be a lot of midges, but there were hardly any. I shall be more careful to take the right inner in future. Hope all is well with you.

  2. That was an excellent day with some truly great scenery. I was particularly interested in your views of Angle Tarn. That one had been on both of my previous planned walks in the Lakes, but I never made it for various reasons 🙂

    1. It’s a very attractive place but busy. A couple of places to camp. Be careful with water though. I’ve read the tarn is dodgy.

    1. Deepdale is on the opposite side of Patterdale, below Fairfield. Be careful of the water at Angle Tarn. I’ve read it is dodgy. Get from streams and filter.

Leave a Reply

