Deepdale daunder part 1

The side trip to deliver our daughter to Manchester University meant that I didn’t arrive at the car park at the end of Haweswater until early evening. The car park was virtually empty. After changing my clothes, I locked the car and walked the short distance to The Rigg.

I’ve camped here several times before, both in the wood and and a couple of places just outside the wood. The weather was quite still and muggy, which meant there were a few insects about. With this in mind, I decided to camp in a more exposed spot to catch what little breeze there was, to combat the flying beasties.

At the junction of the path which leads over Long Stile, there’s a patch of relatively level ground with close cropped grass. It was then I discovered that I’d packed the wrong inner tent. However, I managed to rig the Duomid inner under the Trailstar.

DSC01997Camp at The Rigg

I had to walk down to Riggindale Beck to get some water. As a consequence, it was quite late before I was able to eat dinner. As it got dark, I climbed into my sleeping bag. Despite the drooping fabric of the inner compromising my sleeping space, I managed to get a reasonable night’s sleep.

DSC02002Kidsty Howes and Kidsty Pike

It was a very mild night and the day dawned fair. There was some cloud and hazy sunshine with a bit of a breeze. It looked good for walking. In my mind, I had several options for getting to Deepdale. I decided to take a relatively easy option and head over Kidsty Pike, and then to Deepdale. This would give me a bit of time to to play about with the Duomid inner, to give it a better pitch.

DSC02014Haweswater and Riggindale

I wandered down to Riggindale and crossed the bridge over Riggindale Beck. Then I started the climb up to Kidsty Howes. The weather was quite warm, making it sweaty work. Fortunately, higher up, there was a pleasant breeze. The sunshine was hazy, making it poor for photography.

DSC02017Route up Kidsty Pike

My lack of fitness made for slow progress, but it was a pleasant climb with good views back to Haweswater.  At the summit of Kidsty Pike, I was joined by a Raven grubbing around for morsels.

DSC02023The raven

On the way down to the Straights of Riggindale, I met a couple who were doing the C2C. We had a little chat and I recommended they take a small detour to see the waterfalls at Measand End.

DSC02027Path between The Knott and Rest Dodd

Over the next mile or so, I met a lot of walkers, many of whom appeared to be doing the C2C. Instead of carrying on to Angle Tarn Pikes, I decided to seek out a bit of solitude and descend to Hayeswater.

DSC02028Hayeswater

As I descended the slope, I was surprised to see that the small dam and footbridge had been demolished.

DSC02030No dam or footbridge

P3160097March 2008, the dam and footbridge

 I didn’t mind the dam being demolished but I can’t see the reason for the footbridge being removed. I decided that this would be a pleasant spot for lunch. It was pleasantly warm in the sunshine, with a light breeze to keep the insects at bay. After lunch I found a place to cross the gill using some rocks as stepping stones.

DSC02037Hayeswater Gill

I followed the track down to below Prison Crag. I then crossed Hayeswater Gill for a second time and took the high level traverse above Hartsop. This was a delightful walk, particularly through the woodland just beyond Hartsop.

DSC02047Woodland walk

Passing a waterfall, I reached the lane that leads to Bridgend. I ambled along in the warm sunshine.

DSC02053 Waterfall below Lingy Crag

Just before I turned off to Bridgend I met a group of walkers sitting down for a rest. After a short walk through a field of sheep, I crossed the A592 and then up the lane to Lane Head.

DSC02055Across Patterdale to Deepdale

Turning south, I followed the track to Wall End and then into Deepdale proper.

DSC02060Wall End and Deepdale

DSC02061Deepdale with Fairfield in the distance

 Although Deepdale is not a very long valley, it does have a quality of wildness that it shares with upper Eskdale and Langstrath. Once out of site of Wall End, it feels very remote.

DSC02064Deepdale and Greenhow End

In the distance was the impressive bulk of Greenhow End and the scooped out out cirque of Link Cove. I was aiming for a loop in the the beck amongst the drumlins before the waterfalls near the end of Deepdale. I’d seen this site four years ago and it looked a good place to camp. In fact, it’s about the only decent place to camp in Deepdale.

DSC02065Camping  spot below Link Cove

I was beginning to get a bit nervous that my memory was at fault, but, at last I spotted a patch of green in the bend of the beck. I bushwhacked through some ferns and then a steep slope before reaching my target.

DSC02075An almost perfect spot

As usual, the ground was not as flat as it appeared from a distance. There were also some thistles that needed to be removed before I could pitch. However, it was a beautiful and impressive spot. It had been well worth the effort.

DSC02078Arcadia

All around were reminders of the last glaciation. Humpbacked drumlins, large boulder erratics, exposed glacial till and above me the lip of the cirque that is Link Cove. In spite of only being two miles from the A592 in Patterdale, I could have been in the middle of nowhere.

DSC02082Amongst the drumlins

Although weather was still mild and there was only a gentle breeze, there weren’t many insects to bother me. All in all, it was a lovely place to camp.

10 thoughts on “Deepdale daunder part 1”

  1. A good write up. How do you find the Trailstar in comparison with a more conventional tent? I’m a little curious as I’m now using hiking poles and wondering whether to make the move.

    1. The main difference is that the floor area is much larger and headroom is more restricted. As with everything there are advantages and disadvantages. I probably need to do an assessment of the tents that I own. If you usually carry trekking poles, then it can save weight.

      1. Ah so it’s a swings and roundabouts affair. I was hoping that it would be a silver bullet. Never the less I am intrigued by the hybrid tent/tarps 🙂

Leave a Reply

