TGO Challenge 2014 Update

20140519-070854-25734243.jpg

Lack of 3G signals and WiFi has meant I’ve not been able to do any “live” Challenge posts. However, my hotel in Ballater has WiFi.

So far, everything has gone really well. The picture above is my pitch for the first night at the head of Loch Monar. I’ve had some excellent places to camp all the way so far. The weather for the first three days in the West was mixed, but no more than you’d expect. Since then, it’s generally been good, although Saturday in the Cairngorms was very windy.

I walked the first two days on my own, but since then, I’ve had some excellent walking companions. The camaraderie of the Challenge is something special that needs to be experienced.

Today will be a short day from Ballater to Glen Tanar. Then it will be the popular route of Tarfside, Northwater Bridge, St Cyrus.

I feel very fit and the walking has been well within my capabilities. Much to my surprise, I seem to be quite a fast walker and have ended a number of days ahead of schedule.

The gear has all worked well. The only SNAFU was that I should have proofed my Paramo jacket. It has wetted out in some places but I’ve not got wet. I’ve been really pleased with my Ecco Biom Hikes and avoided foot problems that have hampered some people, especially on hard tracks and roads.

I’ve got lots of photos, but not many on my iPhone. I’ll leave you with a photo of possibly the best pitch of the lot in a green oasis in the middle of the Monadhliath. More when I get home at the end of the week.

20140519-072910-26950861.jpg

One thought on “TGO Challenge 2014 Update”

Leave a Reply

