Dartmoor daunder part 1

It all started so well. The drive down to Belstone was as good as I’ve ever known. It was beautifully sunny as I parked the car. After a bit of faffing around with gear, I was off to Taw Marsh for my first night.

DSC01215Belstone

I’ve been this way before a couple of times, so there was no need for any map navigation. Instead of the track, I took the parallel path, which was mainly grass.

DSC01221Path to Taw Marsh

Rather than camp right by the ford at Taw Marsh, I carried on up theΒ  track, where I knew there were some pleasant grassy spots to camp.

DSC01228Camp on Taw Marsh

It’s good camping away from the ford, which is a major thoroughfare. Just 300 metres further, it was nice and secluded. There was hardly any wind and by late afternoon, hardly any clouds. It was very still overnight and there was a fair amount of condensation on the Trailstar.

DSC01233Trailstar in sunshine mode

I woke to hazy sunshine and it quickly became quite warm, so I tried the Trailstar in sunshine mode. I could see the cloud building to the north, which was strange as I thought the bad weather was forecast to come from the south.

DSC01237Small Brook and Metheral Hill

After taking a ridiculously long time over breakfast and packing, I followed the track along the flank of Cosdon Hill, parallel with Small Brook. Just before Metheral Hill, I spied a possible camping spot, so I descended to investigate. Indeed, by the ford across Small Brook, there was a nice area of almost flat ground.

DSC01249Wild Tor from Hound Tor

I crossed the ford and climbed Metherall Hill and on to Hound Tor. From Hound Tor, there was a clear path to Wild Tor. The weather was still quite pleasant, although the wind had freshened. From Wild Tor it was a simple stroll to Hangingstone Hill.

DSC01253Rock on Wild Tor

Hangingstone Hill has possibly the ugliest army observation post in the whole of Dartmoor, which is saying something. Its one saving grace is that it can provide shelter from the wind. However, I was denied even this small comfort by some strategically positioned cow pats.

DSC01260Whitehorse Hill from Hangingstone Hill

The weather looked a bit ominous to the south, so I decided an early lunch might be a good idea. As I ate, I could see the rain getting closer. Finishing eating, it was on with the waterproofs. Superb timing! Just as I pulled my hood up, it started to rain. After a bit of bog hopping, I reached the peat pass at Whitehorse Hill. Although it was raining, the wind had dropped. It was ideal weather to deploy my umbrella! What a difference it makes walking beneath an umbrella rather than being wrapped in a hood.

IMG_0907Sittaford Tor and Little Varracombe

At Whitehorse Hill, I ditched my original plan to go to Cut Hill and follow the East Dart downstream. Instead I would cut off the corner and head for one of the best camping spots on Dartmoor: South Teign Head. I trundled on to Quintin’s Man and then down into Little Varracombe. Near the bottom, the path had become more like a stream, so some diversions were called for. It was a bit of a slog up Sittaford Tor, but at least the visibility was reasonable.

IMG_0909Grey Wethers and Fernworthy Forest

From Sittaford Tor I descended to the Grey Wethers, a stone circle (actually two stone circles). I was tempted to head cross country but instead followed the path up to Fernworthy Forest, turning south as I got to the forest edge. From there it was a short step to Arcadia.

DSC01268Camp at South Teign Head

Remarkably, entering paradise, the rain stopped and the sun shone. A truly magical moment. I took a bit of time erecting the Trailstar and fiddling about with the pitch. I knew from the forecast it would get windy from the South West and there was the possibility of heavy rain over night. I spent a lazy afternoon drinking tea and soaking up the sun.

13 thoughts on “Dartmoor daunder part 1”

  1. I know this area of Dartmoor rather well (quite scarily) – absolutely love the place. I have never been down the Taw Marshes, have only ever walked the hills on either side, but it does look worth doing πŸ™‚

  2. You found some lovely spots to stop, Robin.
    I liked your fine weather alternative pitch for the TS – I shall of course be using that pitching style all the way across Scotland on the Challenge as the weather will be warm and sunny for the two weeks.
    πŸ™‚

      1. I think that’s one of the disadvantages of the TS. I found the constant crawling and bending made my back a bit sore. No point in getting the Solomid XL when I’ve got a cuben Duomid.

    1. Alan, if the sunshines the midges will eat you ,or you’ll be stuck in the Oook inner, and if it rains your stuck in the Oook inner. Either way it’s Oook inners for you πŸ™‚

      Cracking start Robin. Always like Dartmoor posts.

  3. Hi Robin, I was out on an overnight walk from okehampton a couple of weekends ago and had made hangingstone hill by early afternoon. My mate and I discussed whether to camp somewhere by metheral hill as originally planned, when I mentioned “I’m sure I read a blog the other week about a great spot just down by fernworthy forest…” A couple of hours later and we found Arcadia exactly as you mentioned. What a great spot. We filtered some crisp cold water from the brook, watched the sun set over the hillside, and fell asleep to the gentle water burbling on by. Loved it, thanks for the heads up on a great little pitch!

Leave a Reply

