Dartmoor daunder gear

I’m hoping to go to Dartmoor at the end of the week for a final leg stretch before the TGO Challenge. I’m trying to finalise my gear for the Challenge. Here’s what I’m taking to Dartmoor. This is more or less what I shall be taking on the Challenge.

Dartmoor daunder gear listclick to enlarge

 This is overkill for a couple of days on Dartmoor, but I want to get used to what I shall take on the Challenge. Some things may change. Most noticeably, I’m not sure whether to take the Nemo Zor sleeping mat or a Thermarest XLite. I found the Zor a bit hard when we slept in a bothy in the Monadhliath.

I haven’t received delivery of the Marmot Essence overtrousers yet, but they have had some good press and they are nearly 100g lighter than the Rab Drillium overtrousers. If I was being really Spartan I could probably lose another 500gms, but I’m happy with this list. It will probably creep over 8kg with a few minor bits and pieces like insect repellent (bad midge forecast).

7 thoughts on “Dartmoor daunder gear”

  1. Wow, you seem to have managed to pack a lot of options into the weight. Do you intend taking both the Vasco and the Cypher ? Or are youn using the cypher more as a wind shirt. Also two spare shirts! You’ll be the freshest backpacker in the pub.

    p.s. I’m intrgued, what are the rubber gloves for ??

    1. On long trips you need to be prepared for all eventualities. In 2012, I omitted to take a warm, long sleeved merino base layer and regretted it. I had to buy one in Kinlochleven.

      While Paramo is highly water resistant, it’s not waterproof. In heavy, driven rain it can fail. When it fails, it fails badly as it gets overwhelmed. The pump liner can’t expel water quickly enough and the jacket gets soaked. Most of the time, rain is not heavy enough to cause this, so it gives the illusion of being waterproof. On longer trips, I always take a hard shell as well. I prefer using Paramo to a fleece and windproof.

      Rubber gloves help prevent chapped hands. Dry and cracked knuckles are painful. I use them whenever I’m collecting water, drying or packing a wet tent, especially in wind. Small weight penalty.

  2. Hi Robin
    You have done remarkably well to get to such a low base weight as you still appear to be taking lots of stuff! I was pleased to have managed to get mine down to sub 10kg on the latest version of my list – but without losing a few inches in height and spending a lot on replacement gear that will be it for me. I have no desire to sacrifice safety, warmth and reasonable comfort to shed too much more weight. With a good pack to date (touch wood) I have not had any real struggle carrying up to 14kg all in.

    One reflection – your first aid kit is VERY light. Just stuff like Anti-Chafing Gel and Geowhol (Sp?) foot stuff would take me above your total weight.

    David (@FellBound)

    1. My First Aid kit is a standard Sawyer one plus more paracetamol and some other small odds and ends. I decided that it was easier to include things like chafing cream etc as “consumables” as what I takes varies trip by trip. For the Challenge I will need some anti midge stuff, which I wouldn’t bother with elsewhere. I expect my Challenge list to be about a kilo heavier.

Leave a Reply

