Grimston’s Oak

20140312-085323.jpg

This is a magnificent oak tree that I saw on yesterday’s walk. I’m fairly sure it’s Grimston’s Oak. According to an entry on Geograph, it was named after a cricketer, Robert Grimston, and is estimated to be 350 years old. A fine tree, even without leaves.

Ironically, I hadn’t intended to go this way but I didn’t pay close enough attention to the map. However, it was good to cover some of the Forest that I’d not seen before.

That’s another two hour walk ticked off. I felt quite tired afterwards. Unfortunately, I think I’ve picked up a stomach bug, so there is likely to be a short interlude in my training walks. I need some semblance of fitness for my next walk at the beginning of April: “The Three Amigos in the Monadhliath”.

Leave a Reply

