The Pipedream 400 returns

My Alpkit Pipedream 400 returned today from Elite Cleaning Services. It was sent on Saturday, so that’s a decently quick turnaround. It was well packed inside two polythene sacks, relatively uncompressed.

photo 1Unwrapping and laying the bag out, the down seemed more resilient than when I sent it. It may be an illusion, but it seemed even redder than I remembered. Some of the logos have peeled, but that’s not the fault of the cleaners. Overall, they seem to have done a good job.

photo 2Elite said that in the final rinse they use a Granger’s proofer, so I did a little test. I poured some water onto the bag. As you can see it pools nicely, indicating some water resistance.

photo 3While £39.99 is not cheap, I think it’s well worth the money for a clean sleeping bag and the addition of some proofing. Down is becoming more expensive due to increasing demand from leisure clothing and tighter supply. It makes a lot of sense to clean rather than replace. My Pipedream is now seven years old, but after cleaning is still as good as new.

Disclosure: I have no relationship with Elite Cleaning Services.

9 thoughts on “The Pipedream 400 returns”

  1. Sounds like a fair price for a job well done to me. I’d rather pay that than go through the hassle of doing it myself and I suspect they would do a far better job than me anyway.

    I’m considering using theirs or similar services myself now.

    1. I washed and proofed my PHD Minimus jacket at home. It was a nerve-wracking experience that worked out ok in the end. Domestic washing machines and driers are not really large enough for sleeping bags. Additionally, more care has to be taken with baffle walls compared with the stitch trough construction of many jackets. All in all, I feel it’s best to get sleeping bags cleaned professionally. Elite certainly did a good job with the Pipedream. The loft is very impressive now.

  2. Seems an impressive service,considering return postage is included. Might try this on an old Field and Trek bag that has lost a lot of loft. Mostly these days I use a superb WM megalite bag and also PHD bags.
    I think WM just has the edge over Rab.
    Incidently , did you see Countryfile on BBC One last night ? It featued
    winter in the Caingorms and had a piece on Chris Townsend. He was using the Mariposa and Trailstar. Well worth a look. If you missed it you can catch up with it on BBC iplayer.

Leave a Reply

