F10 Nitro Lite 200 pole project part 1

DSC00479

I’m working on adding an extra pole to my F10 Nitro Lite 200 tent at the moment. Adding an extra pole should make the Nitro Lite extra strong and help support the fabric in the middle of the tent, which has a tendency to flap a bit in a strong wind. It should help with snow loading in winter (should I ever use it in snow!).

My aim is to make this mod optional with a minimal weight penalty. To this end, the pole will be secured a small grosgrain loop on the underside of the roof seam. I’ve sealed this inside with some McNett Tenacious tape and silicone seam sealant on the outside.

photo2

At the hem, I’ve opted for a short cord loop with a mini cord grip. The cord that secures the ends of the pole will be totally removable and the flysheet will be tensioned with removable line loks that I had spare from a compression stuff sack.

photo

My progress is now stalled because I’m waiting for some 7mm eyelets. I used some 8mm eyelets as an experiment but they are marginally too large and the pole end can slip through. I also had an eyelet failure, so I’m going to be more careful with punching the hole in the grosgrain. Vango have kindly provided a spare front pole, which I’m going to shorten by 10cm.

The unshortened pole weighs 112g.ย  Shortening it should lose about 5g. My guess is the lineloks, reinforcing patches and grosgrain on the tent can’t weigh more than 10g. The weight for the cord plus eyelets might be about another 10g, so the all in extra weigh shouldn’t be more than 130g for the extra pole. Without the pole, the extra, the weight gain will be minimal (c.10g), so there’s no issue if I decide to leave the pole at home.

I’ve also come up with a potential solution to the lack of a Tension Band System on the rear pole arch. Again, it will be totally optional and removable. I’m guessing that it will add no more than 15g. I’m hoping that it won’t compromise the inner. The only downside is that it won’t be adjustable from inside the inner. I’m not going to test it until I’ve completed the pole mod (and get some decent weather!).

None of these mods are strictly necessary, as the production model of the F10 Nitro Lite is a fine tent, but I enjoy messing about with tents and enhancing their design and function. The extra pole on the Nitro Lite will make it into a seriously strong tent for winter. One other mod I’m mulling is removable snow valances. Unfortunately my lack of sewing skills might prevent me from making them!

8 thoughts on “F10 Nitro Lite 200 pole project part 1”

  1. You are the archetypical tent fiddler! ๐Ÿ™‚

    Sounds a good project to me Robin and one that should definitely work and provide options for different conditions. I looked at a tent a few years ago called the Montana by Big Sky International that gave you the option of 2 or 3 pole configuration for a 2 man tunnel tent but due to lack of reviews at the time didnt take the plunge. Looks a similar principle to what you are attempting to do (great minds and all that)

    http://www.bigskyinternational.com/SummitShelters/BigSkyMontana2Pdetails.htm

    1. Thanks. I’ve seen the stuff on Roger’s tents. I suspect they will be very expensive if they are manufactured. It doesn’t look as though they will ever get to market. As to making my own, I can’t use a sewing machine, so I just do mods which require rudimentary hand sewing. I’m content to do mods to existing tents. I’m not in the manufacturing game. However, I’m in contact with Vango and it’s possible that some of my ideas might get adopted.

  2. Yes. Not looking good is it, going by the blog. Dunno – learning to use a sewing machine might be a good project for you – perhaps a few groundsheets/tarps for a start. Can’t be too hard. Best of luck.

    1. Sewing silnylon is a nightmare. I just don’t think it’s worth the effort to learn how to sew and go through making the inevitable duds. I’m happy tweaking the products of others. I’m going to adapt a Laser Competition at some stage.

Leave a Reply

