Boot weighing

IMG_0583Out of idle interest, this afternoon, I weighed my current boot collection. From the left I have: the Ecco Biom Terrain (573g), Salomon X Ultra Mid GTX (428g), Salomon Fastpacker GTX (481g) and the Ecco Biom Hike Mid (606g). All were weighed without a footbed to aid comparability. The Fastpackers have now been retired to gardening boots and have a few grams of mud that I couldn’t be bothered to clean off πŸ™‚ .

Over the past week or so I’ve been using the Ecco Biom Terrains for dog walks, comparing occasionally with the Salomon X Ultras. The Terrains areΒ  very comfortable and need next to no breaking in. Of the four boots they have the least cushioning and might be a bit hard underfoot of long road walks (I’ve not gone far enough to tell). They feel very stable with a positive grip.

The X Ultras are quite soft and more cushioned underfoot. I suspect these would be less fatiguing on long days. They feel like trail shoes except for the ankle cut. At the moment, for the TGO Challenge, I expect I will use the Biom Hikes, as they combine underfoot cushioning and superior water resistance, but we shall see.

16 thoughts on “Boot weighing”

  1. I shall definitely be in trail shoes for the TGO Challenge, Robin, unless the weather forecast is for snow. I wore these last year -slightly nervously as i was then still more naturally inclined towards boots. However, trail shoes were superb,and made river crossings much faster. My problem now is which type to get as La Sportiva Raptors in my size (as worn last year) seem to have disappeared from the market.

    1. Trail shoes are not for me outside summer. I’ve tried them several times. I much prefer mid boots. I have a pair of lightweight (260g) waders which are brilliant for river crossings. Not only do you not get wet, you don’t get freezing cold either πŸ™‚ . https://blogpackinglight.wordpress.com/2010/06/30/whats-this/ They are much better than the polythene DryWalkers and by cutting some straps off, I’ve reduced the weigh by nearly 40g. They are really for fishing, so they go right up to the crotch. Superb!

  2. Several years back I was considering buying new bike pedals, spending Β£100 or so for less than 100g weight saving. Then I weighed my then-current cycling shoes and found they were 1500g… I spent the Β£100 on a kilo lighter shoes…
    100g each way on boots, pah!
    (Trail shoes – but then I’m a two-season day-hiker and will resort to boots, or doing something else if the weather is that bad)

    1. That’s a morality tale!

      For a lot of people, trail shoes are fine, I just prefer mids. I’ve found GTX mids to suit me even in quite hot weather. That’s just my preference.

      1. You’ve found goretex boots to behave? You don’t find they get a bit, erm, stinky due to being a bit slow to dry out properly? Perhaps that’s just my cold feet not driving the membrane enough.

      2. I was really sceptical about membrane boots. My first pair were Zamberlan with a proprietary liner and were dire. The next time I bought a pair was Aku Icaros with GTX liners. They were reasonable but failed within 18 months. I then had some Montrail Cirrus which were good but the sole failed.

        I then went onto Salomon Fastpackers. I’ve had three pairs and they’ve been great, even in very wet conditions or hot conditions. If they are soaked all day they get damp inside, but not bad.

        My Ecco Biom Hikes have been even better at staying dry but are warmer, so I wouldn’t wear them in summer. I wore the X Ultras in the Lakes recently and they were impressive. I expect them to be similar to the Fastpackers.

        I think having mid rather than full boots help the air to get expelled around the cuff and so reduce sweat. I would love to try a pair of boots with Outdry, but none of the styles appeal.

        In summary, I’ve had a generally good experience with GTX lined boots over the past few years. However, the liners do have a limited life.

  3. I bought myself a pair of biom hikes a few months ago. And i get very noticable pain right above my heel. At the bottom of the achilles tendon. I have felt with my hand that there is some hard stitching around that back part of the boot. I havent read about anyone else mentioning this. It really hurts a lot after a few miles of walking. Have you noticed this? Even the slightest?

    1. On my right Achilles’ tendon initially I had some slight bruising but this has not reoccurred and wasn’t a problem on my left foot. Everyone’s feet are slightly different shapes and it sounds like yours are not compatible with the Biom Hikes. The Biom Terrains shouldn’t cause the same problem as they are less padded with no seam in that position.

      1. On one end, thats a great thing to hear! On the other, not so great since they released them just after i bought myself the hikes… πŸ˜›

      1. what I found was that trail shoes get heavier quicker than waterproof boots to a point. Once the membrane has been overwhelmed or the water gets in over the top, waterproof boots become worse as they retain more water and for longer.

        πŸ™‚

      2. I’ve found membrane boots dry faster than you’d think as long as the outside surface has a chance to dry. My Fastpackers have always dried quite rapidly. That’s not to say they are perfect as they get quite sweaty when the outer is soaked and the membrane is not able to breathe properly. I think mids are generally better than full boots as air can circulate with a lower cuff. If I’m in a boggy area, I usually use lightweight MLD gaiters to prevent water over topping the cuff.

  4. The Bioms look very interesting. Around half the weight of my current boots and they look like they were designed by someone that appreciates that hiking boots need to be cleaned off from the extensive mud they usually accumulate. I think I might feel a purchase coming on!

    1. I bought mine on the Internet but Ecco do have quite a few shops. As with all footwear, it’s worth trying before you commit.

Leave a Reply

