Buttermere Bimble part 2

DSC01103

Morning in Mosedale

Overnight it rained on and off and the wind, though gusty, wasn’t as strong as I had expected. Nevertheless when I got up, the tops were under cloud and the weather didn’t look very promising. I didn’t fancy going over the High Stile range in clag, with no views. I was also reluctant to risk hurting my back further. The sensible option seemed to be to walk back to Braithwaite, either via Coledale Hause or to reverse the previous day’s route, except to descend into Newlands via Rigg Beck. I wouldn’t need to make the final decision until Buttermere.

DSC01105

Packing up

I wasn’t in any particular hurry, so I didn’t leave until around 10:30. From the sheepfold, I followed the track at the southern end of Mosedale to Scale Force. It was obvious fairly quickly that the Coledale Hause alternative was not very attractive with the tops under mist.

DSC01108

Robinson and Whiteless Pike

It wasn’t long before I reached Scale Force. The picture doesn’t really do justice to an impressive series of waterfalls in a deep ravine.

DSC01111

Scale Force

I followed the high level path down to the end of Crummock Water passing a herd of docile cattle. Looking across the valley, the top of Grasmoor and the surrounding fells were under cloud.

DSC01113

Grasmoor obscured by cloud

While the wind wasn’t quite as strong as the previous day, it was still quite breezy. Fleetwith Pike and Honnister Pass at the head of Buttermere looked atmospheric, half obscured by hill fog.

DSC01115

Looking towards Fleetwith Pike

In what seemed no time at all I was back in Buttermere. I eschewed a pub meal and walked back through Ghyll Wood. I decided to have lunch in the shelter of the wood. I didn’t linger too long as the wind made it a bit chilly.

DSC01121

Ghyll Wood

I followed the track above Sail Beck. Instead of heading to the higher level track that I had used the previous day, I stayed low, following the beck. Out of interest, I kept my eyes peeled for any likely places to camp for future reference, but I couldn’t see any decent spots.

DSC01126

Sail Beck

At first, the path was quite good, but about half way up the valley, it petered out into more marshy ground. I could see the higher level path, so I decided to climb up the steep slope to avoid the wetter ground.

DSC01128

Looking up to Scar Crag below Crag Hill

I was surprised that, given how low the cloud was, I hadn’t encountered more than a spot or two of rain. Just before the watershed of Sail Beck and Rigg Beck, the path bifurcated with the upper branch heading up towards Sail, where I had descended the previous day. This time, I followed the lower branch to the head of Rigg Beck.

DSC01133

Rigg Beck

The path down Rigg Beck was quite steep in places with some small patches of scree. I was impressed by the tenacity of the trees on the flank of Causey Pike, which form a considerable wood in a rather unpromising situation.

DSC01135

Rigg Beck

Lower down, I spied a possible place to camp near a broken down sheepfold. The lower I got, the better it looked. I weighed up whether I should stop here or carry on for another hour or so back to the camp site in Braithwaite. On inspection, it seemed close to perfect, so I pitched my tent.

DSC01142

Camp at Rigg Beck

After collecting some water and having a wash in the beck, I settled down to a lazy late afternoon in the tent. The wind dropped and a few insects came out. I closed the tent door to prevent any invasion πŸ™‚ .

DSC01143

Murky morning

It started to rain late afternoon and continued through most of the night. I wondered whether I might have to stay for the morning until it let up, but by around 7.00 am the rain petered out, which was ideal. There was a strong enough wind to blow off most of the raindrops on the flysheet as well. Even better!

Β DSC01151

Mushrooms

There was no hurry to pack, so again, I wasn’t away until about 10 o’clock. As I descended to the road, there were a couple of brief showers, which I combated with my trusty umbrella. The walk back to the camp site took about an hour and was only remarkable for the number of pheasants I saw in the fields just before Little Braithwaite.

DSC01158

Looking back up the Newlands Valley

Back at the camp site, my tent and car were still there. Phew! All in all, despite a sore back and indifferent weather (although it only rained at night!), it had been an enjoyable little jaunt. Sometimes it’s nice to explore the valleys rather than the peaks. Rigg Beck, Sale Beck and Mosedale are all, in their own ways, gems.

14 thoughts on “Buttermere Bimble part 2”

  1. Sounds like you got your tent up just in time! Your morning routine seems similar to mine, I tend to get up when I naturally feel like it – after all you are there to relax. In fact I didn’t break camp on my Snowdonia trip till 11am πŸ™‚ but don’t tell anybody πŸ™‚

    1. Unless I need to do big mileage, I’m not stressed about getting away too early. It’s meant to be enjoyable πŸ™‚

  2. nice secluded pitch. How did you get on with the dampness problem at the tent
    foot ? According to reviews the Hilleberg Nallo 2 can have the same problem , and
    much more expensive than the Nitro ! How does it take high winds ? Tried a Soulo for a couple of days. Lovely tent and rock solid,but the inner far too small for me,and small matter of 2.4 kilos.

    1. The extra mid panel guy has solved it. The fly/inner separation is now very good.

      I think it’s pretty good in high winds, especially tail on. Sideways it does tend to flap a bit. Doubling the side guys makes a big difference I’m considering adding a third hoop in the middle. The Scarp is still superior IMO, esp with crossover poles.

    2. Robin I hope you don’t mind me replying to Charles. As you say Charles, Soulo rock solid tent. I am only 5’7″ so I don’t find the inner too bad, but for long winter nights I think I would prefer a bit more room. Thinking about this at the moment.

      1. Not at all :-). The Nitro is not for tall people either, certainly not six footers. It does have masses of room.

  3. Thanks Robin and Mark.
    Yes , I am afraid I am another of those six footers ! (actually just on 6 ft ) Unless they lengthen the Nitro I will probably end up with a Scarp. I also found the vestible
    in the Soulo to be rather small. Brochure claims widest part is 24 inches.Best I could get was 19 , and that after 2 pitches. Was impressed though how it handled
    the wind. When fully guyed out seemed almost impossible to move it. Have had a Power Lizard for a while but really got thrashed around when I was camping above
    Buttermere (sheltered site as well ). Hence interest in the Soulo.
    Enjoyed your write up , Robin,one of my favourite areas,always seems something
    new to discover.

    1. Yes, I’m afraid the Nitro won’t work, but the Scarp would be fine. Crossover poles would make it almost as bomb proof as the Soulo.

      I’ll be back that way again next year I hope.

    1. Despite my sore back, it was a very enjoyable walk. I’d like to have a potter around Mosedale again. Rigg Beck was lovely. There were still a few mossies around though.

Leave a Reply

