Buttermere Bimble part 1

“No plan survives contact with the enemy” Helmuth von Moltke

Well my plan didn’t even survive getting my rucksack into the car. As I reached over to shift it on the back seat, I felt a an ominous twinge in my back. The subsequent 300 mile drive didn’t really do me any favours, but I was determined not to let a crocked back defeat me. When I arrived at the camp site, my back felt stiff and sore but I wasn’t incapacitated. I took care not to aggravate it as I pitched  the bomb shelter (F10 Vortex 200). I like to have a “base camp” partly to have a bail out option, but mainly so I know the car is safe.

DSC01023

Scotgate camp site

After securing base camp, I was off to Stoneycroft Gill for my first wild camp. It’s only about an hour’s walk along minor roads and then a track. On previous visits, the bracken has been quite low, but this time, it was quite extensive, which meant pitching options were slightly more limited. I was glad that I had selected the F10 Nitro Lite 200 rather than the MLD Trailstar as the more compact footprint of the Nitro made selecting a flattish pitch easier.

DSC01030

Stoneycroft Gill

The weather forecast was for high winds, but my pitch was quite sheltered, nestling in the shadow of Causey Pike. About an hour after I’d pitched it was getting dark, so I ate some dinner and turned in for the night. One advantage of camping in autumn is that the longer nights mean you really do get a decent night’s sleep before being woken by the morning light.

DSC01031

Dawn looking east from Stoneycroft Gill

The golden glow outside suggested a photo opportunity and I was lucky enough to see the sun rising from behind a low bank of cloud. While there was a breeze, it wasn’t too strong.

DSC01037

Onwards and upwards towards Outerside

As I hadn’t planned huge mileage, I had a relatively leisurely breakfast and was away by 9:30. As I climbed the track, the breeze became stronger. The track and path to the col between Sail and Scar Crags is very pleasant walking. Just beyond Outerside the views open out to the head of Coledale.

DSC01043

Coledale Hause in the distance

If you ignore the mine workings, it’s all rather spectacular. In particular, I’m always impressed by the precipitous flank of Grisedale Pike and the ruggedness of Force Crag. The track that leads to the col gives a feeling of exposure as you look into the valley.  A few hundred metres below the track, there’s a sheepfold with some flat ground. I wondered whether it would make a good high level, but sheltered pitch.

DSC01045

Track to the col (sheepfold just visible on right near bottom of slope)

At the col, the ambience is somewhat spoilt by the controversial restored path to the summit of Sail. I’m not going to post a picture, as it looks horrible. Instead of going up Sail (which I’ve done several times), I descended into the upper reaches of Rigg Beck and then crossed the watershed to Sail Beck. This is fine, but seemingly little used track.

DSC01052

Track down to Sail Beck

Many years ago, I walked over Ard Crags and spotted this track. I’ve fancied walking along this secluded track for some time. By now the wind was a lot stronger and the sky had clouded over. My back wasn’t too bad. It was sore but I wasn’t in pain.

DSC01058

Looking back up Sail Beck

It really is a lovely walk along Sail Beck. The enclosed valley makes it feel remote and the flank of Wandope is suitably wild and rugged.

DSC01062

Gyhll Wood

Eventually the Buttermere valley came into view. At Gyhll Wood I took the path through the wood rather than carrying straight on. It’s a delightful sylvan walk in small gorge. All too soon, the path ended just outside the Bridge Hotel at Buttermere.

DSC01073

Bridge over the river between Buttermere and Crummock Water

Inevitably, the track across the valley was busy with sightseers. After the bridge over the river that drains Buttermere into Crummock Water, I found a suitable place out of the wind to have lunch.

DSC01077

Crummock Water

While it doesn’t look it from the photo above, the weather brightened up a bit after lunch. However, there was a strong wind whistling down the valley.

DSC01080

Looking back towards Robinson

At Scale Beck, I decided to cross to the northern side via a bridge to the obvious track below Scale Knott. When I saw Scale Force in the distance, I regretted my choice as I would have liked a closer view of this impressive waterfall.

DSC01084

Scale beck with Scale Force in the distance

Soon the desolation of Mosedale opened up before my eyes. It’s an impressive wilderness. My one concern was that I couldn’t see anywhere obvious to camp. I followed the track on the northern side of the beck until it descended into a bog. Taking stock, I retraced my steps and crossed to the southern side, where there appeared to be a better track.

DSC01092

A panorama of Mosedale

I was still concerned that I couldn’t see where to pitch. However, to my relief, I came upon a sheepfold with some reasonably flat ground inside. The next concern was a water source. Fortunately, about a hundred metres further on was a small stream with clean water.

DSC01094

 Sheepfold with Hen Comb in the background

Although it was only mid afternoon, I was not inclined to pass by such a good pitch in the hope of finding another in this wilderness. My back seemed OK and I didn’t want to aggravate it any further. Also, I was ideally positioned to do the High Stile ridge via Starling Dodd if the weather and my back was alright. That decision would have to wait until the next day.

DSC01102

View towards Floutern Tarn

13 thoughts on “Buttermere Bimble part 1”

  1. Nice bimble. I have dodgy knees to take my mind off the neck and back pain. Mind you, I find walking helps my back.
    Nice sunrise. I never seem to wake up in time for those.

    1. It helps my back not to sit in a chair for a few days and to sleep on a firm self inflating mat. Perhaps I should do it more often!

  2. Thanks for the good write up of day 1. I love the scenery there, especially the lakes. The whole area you’re visiting is completely new to me, so it’s nice to be able to read your blog and have a virtual tour of it!

    1. One of the beauties of the Lakes is each block of mountains has a different character. Such variety in a relatively compact area is unique. It’s also a great place for wild camping if you avoid a few over used areas.

  3. Nice photos of an area I know fairly well. I was up in Mosedale at end of July and
    unlike you had terrible weather, had to bail out of an increasingly wild and wet day.
    There are some other sheepfolds in and around Mosedale which may offer a weary
    camper some respite,but it can be quite boggy in places.Going back to your first day’s walk , that area is quite spectacular.. I find Gasgale gill to be one of my favourites. The bracken seems to get more invasive as each year passes and blocks out some good sites. Ticks can be prevalant in bracken. So I try to keep well away if possible . Look forward to part 2.

    1. I was going to return via Gasgale Gill but the clouds were down on Coledale Hause so I decided not to go that way. Interesting what you say about ticks. I’ve not encountered them in the Lakes but I’ll be more watchful in future.

    1. I was warned that there weren’t many places to camp in Mosedale. I’d like to have a good wander around. It’s lovely and wild.

Leave a Reply

