Bonne chance Challengers

This time last year, I was in Oban at the start of the 2012 TGO Challenge. I’m envious of those starting their trek today. On the other hand, this year would have posed some domestic dilemmas. I also managed to hurt my back last week. Fortunately, it’s a lot better today and probably wouldn’t have put me off starting.

The Challenge has bitter sweet memories at the moment, given that I had to abandon mine last year because of illness. I know that both Martin Rye and David Williams are carrying leg injuries. I hope that both of them are able to complete their crossings. It’s a crushing disappointment to pull out.

The weather forecast is doing its usual trick of changing by the hour. It looks like a wet weekend followed by an improving outlook next week. It also looks like a cool Challenge, although not as cold as last year.

I’m looking forward to reading about the escapades. I’m hoping that I will be able to do the Challenge in 2014. I’m more or less guaranteed a place. I have a couple of routes in mind. I’m keen to do some of the Monadhliath as it looks like I’ll not be able to go there this year. Anyway, bonne chance to all the Challengers. Have a safe and enjoyable crossing.

P1030495

Camping in Glen Etive

Leave a Reply

