Uncaged

The last couple of months have felt a bit like being in a cage. While Patch is not fully fit, she is progressing. She still has a tendency to hop occasionally. We are taking her back to the vet in a couple of weeks time for another x-ray, just to be sure she’s healed. Anyhow she’s well enough to have a bit of freedom, which means that I can get away for a bit of walking.

School summer holidays are a difficult time as the camp sites will be hell holes. So I’ll need to go somewhere a bit more obscure. I’ve decided that the best place to go is the Far Eastern fells in the Lakes. They tend to be a bit quieter and I can park at the end of Haweswater.

Haweswater

There is a decent choice of places to pitch not far away from the car park. At the moment my plan is to go over High Street and then Angletarn Pikes and to Grisedale to pitch in one of my favourite hideaway spots.

I’ll then head back along the shore of Ullswater to Martindale. I’ve never walked up Martindale, so I’m looking forward to that. I want to revisit Measand Beck, which is a rather fine place to camp, so I’ll cross the watershed at Wether Hill. From Measand Beck, it’s a nice amble back to the car. Depending on the weather, it could be a two or three day trip.

The weather forecast is cooler and unsettled for next week, which gives me an opportunity to try out my new Rab Neutrino SL 200 top bag. I will also be taking a Rab Sawtooth soft shell jacket, to see how it performs for summer trips. My new Mariposa rucksack will get its first outing, as will my new Sony DSC-WX100 camera. I’m not sure about footwear. It could be my La Sportiva Raptors or I may use my Salomon Fastpackers. I’ll probably take both and make a decision when I get there.

Measand Beck

12 thoughts on “Uncaged”

  1. Don’t know when you’re planning to come up Robin – but it won’t be quiet this weekend as 1500 runners in the Lakeland 100 and 50 races will be heading up Fusedale and over to Haweswater and on to Sadgill on Saturday. There’s a checkpoint at Mardale Head that will be doing great business especially through the afternoon!
    Enjoy anyway, though a mixture of wet weather and rampant vegetation is making things difficult underfoot especially on the lower fells.

  2. Hope you get a decent run out Robin. Look forward to lots of photos with the new camera and the area does look very nice indeed.

    enjoy….

Leave a Reply

