Zero hour approaches

Well at 7 o’clock this evening, it will be zero hour. I’ll be at the station, waiting for the tube to take me to Euston. Hopefully I’ll have a quick rendezvous with Alan Sloman and then on to the sleeper to Crianlarich. I have to wait for two and a half hours for the Oban train, so I’ll try to find breakfast somewhere. At Oban I’ll dump my pack at the hotel and have a little explore. I can’t check in until three.

On Friday, I have to sign out at the Youth Hostel and then I’m off with forty odd other hardy souls. The weather forecast is pretty grim for Sunday, but fortunately on Sunday night I should be staying at a hotel, probably to dry out!

Here’s my route:

Friday 11th Oban to Glen Noe
Saturday Glen Noe to Dalness
Sunday Dalness to Kinlochleven
Monday Kinlochleven to Ossian
Tuesday Ossian to Loch Pattack
Wednesday Loch Pattack to Loch Cuaich
Thursday Loch Cuaich to Glen Feshie
Friday Glen Feshie to Linn of Dee
Saturday Linn of Dee to Braemar
Sunday Braemar to Allt Darrarie
Monday Allt Darrarie to Tarfside
Tuesday Tarfside to North Water Bridge
Wednesday North Water Bridge to St Cyrus

If I feel like it, I may take a day off at Braemar and push the rest of the schedule back a day.

My iPhone is far too slow for live blogging so it’s unlikely there will be anything on this blog until I return. Let the adventure begin!

18 thoughts on “Zero hour approaches”

  1. I’m currently in the Pattack area on vacation. Weather fine just now but……..
    Enjoy your adventure!

    1. Aha, perhaps you can prepare a nice camping spot for me. Short grass, bubbling burn, golden red sunset, you know the sort of thing 🙂

  2. Good luck , Robin. Pleased Mariposa is ok for you. Useful weight saving.
    There is a good tea room on Crianlarich Station. It was open last time I used it (a while ago ) when the London train arrived. Good breakfast. If you want to check – -the
    phone No. is 01838 300204. ( I think still current )
    Hope you don’t need the brolly too much !

Leave a Reply

