MLD Ultimate Trail Mini Container Repackaging Kit

Although the cuben Duomid is lovely, it is probably the worst value for money weight saving that I’ve ever indulged in. Essentially I’ve paid £134 for 200g of weight saving (the difference between the silylon and cuben versions). It was a “want” rather than a “need”, but backpacking is still a relatively inexpensive hobby compared to many. If I had taken up golf on my retirement, I would have spent a lot more money.

However, one (slightly) better value for money purchase that I made from MLD at the same time as ordering my Duomid was to buy their container set @ $25 (£16.60). At first blush, this doesn’t seem very good value, but I’ve been hunting around the internet for a similar package of dropper bottles from the UK, but couldn’t find any. The only ones I found, you needed to buy a lot to make P&P worthwhile.

Despite having a whole variety of plastic containers left over from various products, many are a bit on the large size, especially for 2-3 day trips. So the ability to decant amounts of soap etc. into very small containers should save some weight and bulk. I’m unlikely to save 200g, but the ratio of money spent to weight saved should be better than the Duomid!

16 thoughts on “MLD Ultimate Trail Mini Container Repackaging Kit”

  1. I bet everyone gets that “want” verses “need” moment. That’s why I ended up sticking stuff on e-bay. I’m still trying to get off that “want” thought process.

    If you really don’t want your Duomid …………….. now there’s the test!
    By all accounts it’s a great shelter – almost as good as a Trailstar (stands back and waits for flack) and I’m sure it will give you years of fun. (I’m really jealous – tho I do have an MLD Cuben Grace Duo – a “want” too!)

    Containers have been an essential need for ages. I need one container size for whisky, meths and Dr. Bronners. The are a number of web sites that do plastic bottles – in quantity, and, I’ve found that the 100 ml size is ideal for re-supplies on the TGOC.

    1. I can see the attractions of the Trailstar but I like the height of the Duomid. I’m sure the Trailstar is more storm worthy because of its lower profile, although the Duomid is surprisingly good. I would also need an OookWorks inner. Each of us has different trade offs and that’s fine. I don’t anticipate having to buy another container for the rest of my life!

  2. I’ve learned the hard way that getting consumables under control is essential. My Big Three weighed less than 2 kg without buying cuben but the pack still felt too heavy. The spreadsheet showed me why. Attention to detail on everything except fuel, food and pharmaceuticals.

    A new cuben rucksack prompted me to invest in small packaging, with all contents carefully measured, and the overnight bag, trekking poles attached to it, came in at roughly twelve pounds. That was enough for complete comfort on a blowy, Autumn night.

    So, it seems to me that your purchase is completely sensible.

    1. Spot on. I’ve struggled as well to get the consumables right. Hopefully this will help. The medical kit also needs a prune.

  3. You can buy mini containers from several supermarkets. Designed for carrying liquids, etc onto aircraft. A pack containing about 4 containers, plus toothbrush and mirror is about £2 from what I recall.

    Ian.

  4. Dangerous calculation, the old £ per gram saved! I have thought about it but have banished it to the darkest recesses! Along with £’s per Munro! However as some one once said ” now is the winter of our discontent”, more dark hours to trawl the internet, or indeed the many gear shops here in the Lakes.
    Must keep away…… Must keep away……Must keep away…..

  5. A good range of wee, tiny bottles, if you need wee tiny bottles.

    I’m always searching for (and never finding enough of) the empty bottles from any travel size ‘beauty’ products I’ve bought, to wash and use for soap, etc.

    This had just reminded me: I remember when I started backpacking umpty-ten years ago, you used to be able to buy empty tubes from outdoors shops to fill with whatever you needed for a few days away (marg, peanut butter, jam, etc). I’m not sure how these closed as I never bought any, as I managed to ‘borrow’ a few from my workplace to use. These were thin, soft metal, empty (unused) tubes – you filled them, folded over the ends and pinched them shut with pliers.

    1. Dropper bottles seem to be more effective than the containers that you get free with most products. The range of sizes means that I only need take what is strictly necessary. Shame I had to buy them from the US.

  6. I recently managed to source two kinds of small containers in the UK. They weren’t very easy to find, so here are the details.

    Small dropper bottles are available in three diferrent sizes from
    http://www.vetuk.co.uk/veterinary-supplies-pet-medicals-c-141_438/plastic-dropper-bottles-p-1797

    I ordered mine via Amazon, but I did not save that specific URL. The bottles seem to be watertight and resistant to meths, but it’s early days.

    A pack of 7 small containers is availble from Trekmates. Just google “Trekmates Assorted Storage Bottle Set”. You can get them through Amazon. I bought them from a branch of Oswald Baileys, which often has them in stock. They could be a useful minor present for the backpacker who thinks he or she has everything. The bottles with folding spouts are not watertight, even when the spouts are folded down, and the small plastic pillboxes also need protection from the wet when carried in a pack.

    1. Good spot. I have some bottles similar to the Trekmates ones. Like you I’ve found the folding spouts are not watertight.

  7. I was looking at the MLD bottles and ended up here.

    I’ve got some mini-droppers (BPL) and find them too small to be of much use to me; little pots and so forth are more suited to my uses….and I found this site and ordered a good selection…

    http://www.shcweb.co.uk

    I’d pop up a picture…but can’t; lucky.

Leave a Reply

