Provisional TGO Challenge route

I’ve had several routes planned for a while, just as a fun exercise. After talking to Alan on our recent Peddars Way walk, I ran one route by him. His opinion was that the route I had outlined was a sensible one for a first timer. So, at the moment, this is what I’m thinking: Oban, Loch Etive, Glen Coe, Kinlochleven, Loch Ossian, Culra, Loch Pattack, Dalwhinnie, Gaick Lodge, Glen Feshie, Braemar, Ballater, Mount Keen, Tarfside, Edzell, St Cyrus. So far I’ve plotted up to Braemar in detail. The home stretch should be straightforward.

The other strong contender was Strathcarron. However, I didn’t want to get funnelled into the bottlenecks of Drumnadrochit or Fort Augustus in crossing the Great Glen. Oban has the appeal of a relatively easy first day as well. As I ponder, things could change. I need to check a couple of things out, but it feels like a good route to take with some good wild camping possibilities and with some social opportunities. So if you want to meet me or avoid me, that’s probably my route.

17 thoughts on “Provisional TGO Challenge route”

  1. This is one of the best parts of the Challenge: Route planning.
    There is a smashing cafe in Taynuilt, when you will be needing a bit of a lift. Glen Lonan is quite beautiful; it’s a road walk but there’s lots of sheep-nibbled spring turf at the side of the road. That glen has a pair of sea eagles close by too.

    Call me anytime.
    🙂

  2. Looks a good route, Robin.

    Oban is a good starting place – and has a great Curry House!
    I’ve booked in to Lochailort Hotel, so my route starts here. I’ve yet to go back over my provisional route, but, I will aim for Stonehaven via the Fetteresso.
    The route planning, as Alan says, is the fun part.

  3. Oban is nice. No eagles when I walked the glen. There are other ways to avoid the road. Read Turnballs Crossing Scotland. Summits of the south route. Also ignore idiot comments the hills of the south are for when your older and past it.

  4. If you’re in a car and get the chance to stop and climb the Munro that sits outside the hotel at ‘Ballachulish’ then it comes highly reccomended.

    North of Oban is Ullapool and I’m sure there are some decent walks round there.

    A decent place just south of Fort William is: http://www.inchreecentre.co.uk/

  5. If you are walking up the East side of Loch Etive, be warned that the marked path get fainter until it disappears approaching the North end of the Loch and the ground gets quite boggy. I think the route onwards to Glencoe is then OK but I climbed Ben Starav so can’t say for certain!
    Andy

  6. Just ordered ‘Scottish Hill tracks’ direct from rights of way soc (as has doubled in price overnight on Amazon!). Plotted the allowed start and end points. Panicked a bit…That’s about the extent of my planning so far!

    I will study your waypoints. I’d like to visit Loch etive, and always fancied Ben Starav. I was also liking Mallaig into Knoydart for a start but maybe that’s biting off too much. I also might save that one for when we can catch the steam train! (their season starts 4 days later than we all do).

    1. I’ve deliberately chosen a relatively easy route for my first time. However, it goes through some lovely areas. The route finding should be relatively straightforward as well.

  7. Hi Robin

    I started in Oban twice and my first crossing i did the Taynauilt thing however on my second time of starting in Oban with a couple of other good buddies from TGO,we got a ferry from Oban to Lismore walked the length of the island and caught a ferry to Port Appin. Roger stated we were the first ever to use that as a start and it was cracking little island.

    Good luck
    Stuart

Leave a Reply

