Peddars Way gear

Duomid and OookWorks inner: not exactly a severe test but worked well. The Duomid is ideal for this kind of walk. I love the amount of room, especially having a huge porch. Now that MLD are making coloured cuben Duomids, I’ve ordered one. Sean is going to make me a lighter inner, so I should be able to get the total weight down to around 800g (excluding walking poles).

Gossamer Gear Mariposa Plus: ideal and very comfortable. I’ll do a “living” review soon.

Cumulus Quantum 350 and POE Ether Elite: the nights were very mild and I was comfortable both nights. I think the Ether Elite is slightly warmer than the Peak Elite AC. I’m looking forward to the launch of the new Exped Downmat UL, which I think will be ideal. For some reason I seem to feel the cold from below.

Salomon Exit Peak Mid 2 GTX: I took these to give them a longer test than in the Lakes. They were fine. Very comfortable and kept my feet dry. However, I suffered some slight bruising on my toes (which I’m prone to). I should have taken the Superdrug gel toe protectors, but forgot. While I like these boots, I still think the Fastpackers are better, so I’m going to give up trying new boots and stick to them. I liked the look of Alan’s La Sportiva Raptors (apart from the colour scheme). I’m tempted to try a pair as trail shoes next year if they import the red colour scheme.

Paramo 3rd Element: I returned to the 3rd Element for this trip and it was perfect. For the first and last day, I mainly wore just the gilet. On the second day I wore the complete jacket. It kept my body temperature at an ideal level throughout the walk. Difficult to fault. IĀ  combined it with my Icebreaker Kent merino polo or Berghaus Xstatic long sleeve shirt, both of which worked well.

M&S Ultralite Umbrella: A small collapsible umbrella, weighing 211g with flexible nylon spars. This is the first time I’ve carried an umbrella. Despite causing a bit of amusement, it proved its worth at the end of the second day. While the rain wasn’t heavy, it was persistent and it was nice not to have the constant pitter patter on my hood. It kept me almost bone dry and I didn’t need to wear overtrousers. For lowland walking, when it’s not too windy, an umbrella is a useful bit of gear. The weight penalty is only the equivalent of a windshirt or lightweight waterproof, so I think it’s worth taking.

Evernew Pasta Pot: Normally I take an Evernew 640ml cooking pot and an MSR titanium mug. For this trip, it seemed like overkill, so I took the pasta pot and used it as a mug. In some ways it’s better than the MSR mug as I can have a larger cup of tea. If you want to take only one pot, then this is the one to take.

The rest of the gear was all familiar stuff, like the Snow Peak stove and there’s nothing really to report. Pack base weight was 8.5kg plus 1kg in my belt pack. I also carried about 1.5L of water and about 2.5kg of food. I could have cut it down a bit more but I erred on the side of caution and the lack of significant hills meant I could be relaxed about a bit of surplus weight. At no time did I feel I was carrying an excessive weight.

15 thoughts on “Peddars Way gear”

  1. Robin , I will be interested in your long term review of the Mariposa plus , and in particular what difference the new frame has on it’s carry comfort etc.
    I tried to purchase one through Winwood Outdoor . but they have been unable to obtain any new supplies from Gossamer Gear – despite ordering a large quantity back in April. Eventually ( after many email chase ups) They were told that the Gorilla and Mariposa are being re-designed.
    Ian at Winwood kindly lent me his personal G4 sack to help while trying to get some sense/reply from GG. Excellent service again from Winwood !
    I ended up purchasing a Lightwave Ultrahike from ULOG , which I find extremely comfortable, and only 1.180kg (large) I know you have one and would be interested to know how you feel it compares with the (current) Mariposa’
    Enjoyed your PWay report by the way.

    1. The Lightwave is a terrific pack. The main difference in the carry between the Ultrahike and the Mariposa is that the Mariposa is more flexible and moves with your body. Bear in mind, I have the old version with two carbon fibre stays. While the hipbelt is quite basic, I’ve found it surprisngly comfortable. The Ultrahike hip belt is good (with my modification https://blogpackinglight.wordpress.com/2010/11/02/ultrahike-hipbelt-mod/ ) and enables a much heavier load. I reckon 12-13 kg is the max that can be carried comfortably by the Mariposa (might be more with the new aluminium stay). I guess the other major differences are the exterior mesh pockets. I ilke having them but others might prefer the cleaner lines of the Ultrahike. The downside of the mesh pockets is that they are not very robust. I’ve had to mend two holes. In rain they also make the pack very wet, so I use a lightweight silnylon pack cover. I’ll do a more in depth review in the next few weeks, but those are some observations.

  2. +Thanks for your thourghts Robin .will look forward to your review on the Mariposa. Will let your know if obtain any further news re the updated back.
    Really like the Lightwave. No issues with the hipbelt – found very good so far.

  3. Robin, I have become a fan of the 3rd element. For a walk like this and in late spring and autumn periods, it is ideal. I use the gilet part of it instead having to carry a fleece or down vest. The overall weight of 3rd element is then not such an issue, because you are saving on the weight of other insulation, with the added bonus of a first rate “waterproof” jacket as well.

  4. Lots of people seem to knock the Salomon Fastpackers (particularly because of an alleged lack of grip), but Mick’s had four pairs so far and is about to order his fifth pair (best mileage obtained so far was over 1000 miles out of pair no. 2; worst mileage was 235 on pair no. 1, but Salomon did provide a replacement pair under warranty). Whilst the Fastpackers are still available I don’t think Mick would choose anything else to wear for our Big Walks.

    1. I’ve just ordered a third pair, nearly half price from Field & Trek šŸ™‚ I’ve never had a problem with grip so far

  5. I see you’ve still got your POE Ether Elite; I thought practically everyone had suffered with leaks. Ours are still going strong (but not had that much use to be honest), but last week I felt the cold from beneath. The overnight temperature was about 4C I guess, and I felt cold on my hip when lying on my side, and on my back when I tried lying flat on my back. I’ve never suffered with this before using my old Thermarest and this was with my winter weight Rab Quantum bag. I’m thinking about what to add as extra winter insulation. I thought I may cut a torso length piece from an old karrimat and/or use a space blanket below the mat.

    1. I’ve been using a 150cm length of tent underlay foam (from Needlesports). I’m waiting for the new Exped Downmat UL, which I think could be the answer as I find the POE mats can be a bit cold, especially the Peak AC. I’ve not suffered any leaks as yet.

      1. Thanks Robin. I see the tent underlay is 3mm thick; this has just reminded me that I could cut up my old 4mm thick yoga mat and try that! Then, if that isn’t warm enough, I’ll go onto cutting up a karrimat (we’ve got 5 in the cupboard from family camping trips!)

  6. I don’t understand the Neoair/Ether Elite style of mattress. In the dim and distant past, the old fashioned airbeds were denounced as having no insulation value which is about when the outdoor community turned to Karrimat-type closed cell products. I have an original Thermarest (full length) and a Thermarest ProLite, again full length, and I’m happy with the performance of both of them. The original is much more comfortable but at a cost of extra weight and bulk. I’m not prepared, at the moment, to invest in a product which, initially at any rate, seems prone to leakage.

    1. The Neoair and POE mats are different from ordinary air beds. The POE mats are similar but have strips of insulting wadding in the torso area to help insulation. The Neoair has a complex system of chambers to counter convection cooling. Of the two, I think the Neoair is slightly more effective. So far leaks have not been a problem, although the Neoair does lose some air during the night.

Leave a Reply

