What is it about dogs?

We have a little 6 year-old Jack Russell bitch named Patch. We’ve had her since four months. When we brought her home she was very shy and cautious. It took several months for her to integrate but she has been a sheer delight to have, even if she is the worst scrounger in dogdom!

Yesterday she had to go to the vet’s for a dental to clean the tartar from her teeth. Her breath had become very bad! This had to be done under anaesthetic so we had to leave her all day. She really doesn’t like the vet’s. My wife had to walk her down and when she got back she was in floods of tears at leaving little Patch.

All day we were twiddling our thumbs, hoping that she would be OK. The house seemed so still and quiet without her. The call came at 3.00 p.m. to collect her. They had to remove four teeth but she was fine, if a little woozy.

They also took an x-ray of her leg. Unfortunately she will need another operation to stop her knee cap dislocating. While it is not urgent, it will need to be done in the next year or so. Obviously this is a lot more serious than having her teeth done.

While you hope that nothing goes wrong, there’s always a risk, particularly with a small dog. The thought of the possibility of losing Patch is almost unbearable. What is it about dogs? They really get to you.

17 thoughts on “What is it about dogs?”

  1. I hope she gives you many more years of pleasure! My Mother recently had her Yorky ‘Misty’ put to sleep. Misty was nearly fifteen and Boxing day she started having fits. We took her to the vet and they gave her an injection and vallum to calm her but the next day she kept having fits and the next so her time had come. She was very healthy physically but she’d had a type of dog stroke and it had affected her brain! My Mother is heart broken and misses her dearly!

    It was only three weeks prior the other Yorky ‘Cocoa’ had to be put to rest too! Only one survives now ‘Meko’!

  2. I know where you are coming from. Rueben has only been with us a week and he is now part of the furniture. A smelly house and poo bags stuffed in every pocket is the price to pay though!

    1. Yep, but you love him don’t you. You’re already trapped. It’s like having a child that you can’t explain to. It’s heart rending when they look at you. But they are worth it a million times over.

  3. Robin, I have two Jack Russells and one of them looks identical to yours , except there are black markings on the ear instead of brown with your dog. Real characters Jack Russells šŸ™‚
    Mark

  4. Dog/cat = child. Don’t care what anyone says, the similarity in depth of emotional bond is staggering. We have a child, bless ‘im, and I see others treat their pets in the same way. I don’t judge – if people find love and happiness, I applaud them.

  5. Maz – comments are whole heartedly true! My Mum prefers the dogs (unfortunately no longer dogs) and cats to my father! She treats them better and feeds them better too! Ha ha

  6. I hope Patch is ok and I know exactly what you mean. I have two young kids ages 4 and 6, but just last year we got our first dog, a chocolate lab that we rescued from a shelter. She is our first dog and is as much a part of our family as any of us.

    Don’t get me wrong, she knows her place and the correct pecking order – she knows when to obey little Maggie who is four or else there is a price to pay. But she is a part of the family none the less and she lives inside with us.

    When my kids are sick or need something they tell me as much, but with pets they can’t and they never seem to want to bother you about their troubles. It makes it all the more upsetting when you discover they have had something wrong with them and you never knew it.

    Patch looks like a beautiful dog and I’m sure she’s got lots more fun years ahead of her. Enjoy her company!

    p.s. The only other dog that our lab feels 100% at home with is my friend’s 3 year old Jack Russell called Penny. Gotta love those smart little dogs.

  7. I think a lot of it is in their faces. ‘How can I get mad at that face’ etc…

    Can’t stand cats though, but at times I prefer dogs to even humans.

  8. Our little Dogface has a dislocating kneecap too. No op yet although that may be in his future as he gets older. Meanwhile we’re giving him ‘Seraquin’ nutritional supplement with glucosamine, chondroitin, and tumeric which I’m amazed to say is helping. I’m a bit sceptical about these kind of things but my dad’s taking something similiar for his knees and he swears by it too. Thought I’d mention it in case something like that might help Patch.

    Thanks for a great blog. Long time reader first time poster! šŸ˜‰

    Sarah

Leave a Reply

