The best year

This year has been a strange one, but ultimately the happiest of my life. At the end of 2009, the company I had worked for was taken over. In January we were “integrated”. By March it was clear that it wasn’t going to work, so I decided to retire early (eight years early!!). Since then, I have enjoyed life. I’ve had quality family time for the first time in fifteen years. I’ve read books, listened to music and done a decent amount of backpacking. What could be better? In a way I feel a bit guilty. However, we must make the best of the time allotted to us, so I am turning down offers of work to concentrate on my family, charity/community work (still sorting this out) and backpacking. I know some of you have had a difficult year. All I can say is keep hope alive, things usually improve. Wishing everyone a very happy Christmas and New Year. Oh, and my back has almost returned to normal.

13 thoughts on “The best year”

  1. perfec priorities Robin, surely the best! I’m not at retiring stage but its a good time to look at reordering how we structure our lives, with the wisdom and reflection that quality hill time affords us

    happy christmas

  2. I can only agree about retirement. However the last 4 years of such as been the only time my wife and keep a diary – and they are full!

    For those contemplating it there are loads of charities which will welcome your help. To keep hill fit find a dog rescue centre and offer to walk them.

    Enjoyed your blogs – keep it up and with more free time there should be more!

  3. Robin, great to hear how everything has worked out for you, enjoy it. We tend to get caught up in everyday affairs and forget how much pleasure there is to be had from the simple things in life.

    Best wishes for 2011, hope it’s even more enjoyable for you than 2010.

    Richard

  4. I retired three and a bit years ago at 60. Today, I went in to my old office to have lunch with ex-colleagues and it was great to walk away afterwards without thinking of month-end deadlines etc! When I worked, I read two newspapers, the Daily Telegraph and the local paper. After retiring, I had to cancel the Telegraph as I didn’t have time to read both!
    As others have said, I enjoy your blog and reading of your backpacking trips.

  5. I think you made a good choice. Also you mention charity. Good on you. There is so much rewarding time to be had doing things apart from the traditional work route in life. Catch you next year. Happy Christmas to you and your family.

  6. All the best for Xmas and New Year.
    It’s definitely the right decision by the sound of it. On retirement most people say they don’t know how they ever found time to go to work – and it’s true.

  7. Don’t feel guilty – I quit my job (it was making me unhappy) and started studying again to be able to change the way I live my life and I refuse to feel guilty 🙂

    I hope you all the best into 2011, may it be even better than 2010!

Leave a Reply

