The weather curse

Looks like the weather curse is striking again. I’m off to the Lakes on Monday. The forecast is for rain and high winds on Tuesday night and Wednesday after weeks of fine weather. I may have to tweak my gear to accommodate a sudden turn for the worse. I’m wondering whether to take a better jacket than my DIAD.

My POE Ether Elite sleeping mat arrived today. It actually weighs slightly less than the manufacturer’s specs at 390g vs. 396g. First impressions are good. After inflating it, I had a little lie down and it seems very comfy. The insulated area seems warmer. I like the tapered shape and the longitudinal tubes. The deep valleys between the tubes give the down in the sleeping bag modest room to loft, which might help insulation. The proof of the pudding is in the sleeping. I’ll report back next week.

One thought on “The weather curse”

Leave a Reply

