Death in the night

My Home Server (RipNAS) died last night. I tried to resuscitate it, but to no avail this morning. I rang the shop that sold it to me. Apparently I was the second customer of the day to ring with a dead RipNAS. Some dud chips from Intel was the problem. So it has to go back, so I can get a new one. Fortunately they can save the music (c. 550 CDs). However, being the cunning chap I am, I had copied all my music to an external backup disc so I can use that for my music system. I’m patting myself on the back for a good bit of contingency planning!

3 thoughts on “Death in the night”

  1. Another reminder that I should backup my NAS, too 😉

    BTW, if you are looking for a new one I’m really satisfied with my QNAP – I think it’s the 408 Pro but not 100% sure and not at home right now – 2 years without a single problem…

    1. It seems stupid that Windows Home Server doesn’t have a back up program. I just copied everything across to an external hard disc. It took about 5 hours! I also rotate two external hard discs and store one off site (at my parents). It really is worth a bit of time and effort, especially as external hard discs are so cheap.

  2. Yes, Well done with the backup. It’s usually something that we will get round to doing tomorrow. Then regret that we never got round to doing it when something goes wrong.

    It’s always a pain when something like this happens but fortunately you are having it replaced.

Leave a Reply

