Ch-ch-changes

Met Office forecast for Snowdonia this weekend:

Friday

Another mainly dry day, although with a chance of some patchy light rain or drizzle for a time in the morning. Brighter with some sun later. Light and variable winds.

Saturday

Staying settled with any early mist or fog soon clearing. It will be a bright and warm day with little in the way of cloud. Very light winds continuing.

Sunday

Similar to Saturday, remaining settled and dry with plenty of sunshine. Easterly winds slightly stronger than previous days.

When I was doing my planning at the weekend it was quite cold, so my clothes choices reflected that. It seems that I might have been too pessimistic, so I’m thinking of tweaking the choices a bit. I’ll take a range of stuff and decide when I arrive. Possible takes: Macpac Matrix Jacket, Haglofs Dual Fleece gilet, Paramo cap. Possible leaves: Gap gilet, Patagonia R1, Montane Litespeed, Ortovox Merino 3/4 leggings, LA Mountain Cap. There’s not much difference in weight, but I’ve wanted to try the Matrix out for a while as it’s like a Paramo, but half the weight.

5 thoughts on “Ch-ch-changes”

  1. I shall be in the Peak District the next few days-Lets hope that we both get a bit of decent weather.Have a good trip.

  2. I checked the weekend weather too and I may be heading up to Snowdonia on Friday myself. Was planning to go last weekend but seeing a full 5 days of rain icons on the iphone weather app was too depressing! But I guess you could do with one heavy night just to test out your Scarp!!

  3. Looks like the weather has turned just right for you. Heard its going to be ok for the next couple of weeks which would be handy as Im off to the Lakes the weekend after this one !

  4. I’ll keep any eye out for the distinctive grey/yellow structure! I’m guessing you’ll be over to the north/east side of the Carneddau? I haven’t decided whether to wild-camp or not yet – I feel as though I want to put some miles and height in, so may camp at Gwern Gof Uchaf just off the A5 and put in some day walks.

Leave a Reply

