Scarp mods part 2

In between ripping CDs (I’m up to “N”), I found some time yesterday afternoon to continue my program of modifications for my Scarp 1. The first job to do was to seal the seams. I did have some silicone sealant from Henry, but decided to use some McNett Silnet silicone sealant (purchased from Cotswold, but available in most outdoors shops). I massively overestimated the amount I would use by buying two tubes and only needing half a tube!

1) Seam sealing. Before starting, I unhooked the inner tent from the roof of the outer. Using the sealant straight from the tube on to the seams and spreading with the small brush provided is extremely easy and not too messy. I sealed the seams around the roof vents, the main side seams and the reinforcing discs. Having the crossing poles made it easy to do in the garage rather than outside, although it was difficult to see the clear sealant at times. In all, it took about an hour to do. (Addendum: I sealed the seams on the inside, as I didn’t want to spoil the outside appearance of the fly. Technically, sealing the ouside would be a better option to stop rain soaking the threads)

2) New end guy system. The second job was to rearrange the guys at the end of the tent. The picture below gives some idea of how I’ve changed them. It looks slightly messy but it is a lot more elegant in the flesh.

The first thing was to separate the eyelets securing the pole ends, giving them a separate cord, terminating at the bottom corner linelok. The end guy is tied to the loop that secures the bottom corner linelok and threaded through the top corner linelok. Both the corner guy and the pole eyelet can now be adjusted independently. There is a minor disadvantage to this arrangement as it makes the tent slightly less taut when it is free-standing, but it should be a lot better when it’s pegged out for real. I also made the guys longer so they pull at the same angle as the seam on the fly sheet.

The next job was to change the centre guy so that it could use the two outer pegs rather than needing its own, similar to the arrangement on the Akto. Hopefully the picture is reasonably self-explanatory. I’ve continued to use the centre linelok to give some more adjustability but attached a ring for the guys going to either side. There are lineloks on either side to enable further adjustment if required. It’s quite a neat system. Unfortunately, the picture makes it look more complicated than it really is.

3) Side guys. The next job was guys on either side of the main pole arch. Those were straightforward. I’ve used “glow in the dark” lineloks rather than black (I replaced those in the picture).  For cord I used the Kelty Triptease line that Tarptent sell. It is a slightly different colour to the cord supplied with the tent. It’s more orange than yellow. As a perfectionist, this meant changing the zip pulls on the inner tent doors! Overall, I used slightly more than one pack of cord (50 feet), although I’ve been quite generous on the length of the guys. Hopefully that all makes sense.

16 thoughts on “Scarp mods part 2”

  1. How I shall miss the Laser Comp mods!! Good luck with the Scarp – though a much smaller user base I’d imagine? We’ll see if it turns out to be quite such a popular (and essential) read as your previous mods.

    1. The Laser Comp is still a good tent if you are a gram counter, although the Solomid looks an even better alternative. The Scarp is more of a competitor to the Akto.

  2. I added guys to the pole and to the end guy points, added some cord to all the zips and Im happy with it. There was a lot of your mods I used on the Comp which I thought improved it as it was a flawed design from the start and needed a lot of improvements, however im really happy with the Scarp. Very simple and it works!

  3. Not sure about the guylines mod. I found the ones on the Akto more fiddly than the standard Scarp version.
    BTW, I like to fiddle too but left those alone since it seemed to me the major reason why I can pitch the Scarp faster than the Akto.
    Franco

    1. It should be less of a fiddle than the Akto because the centre and lateral guys are not connected. You also save two pegs.

  4. Robin, what would you take as ‘spares’ for the Scarp on a long trip. I am think some extra dynemma cord (multi-use in any event) and some spare shock cord. I always carry an extra couple of pegs (indeed works with wood burner Tri-Ti). Anything else? Mark

    1. Pole sleeve in case pole breaks plus duck tape to fix in place, patch of material and Silnet to repair rips, needle and thread in case anything needs stitching. That should cover most eventualities 🙂

  5. Good advice so thanks. I have thought before, and i think so now, I could usefully spend a couple of hours learning how to do some rudimentary sewing!

    1. You might want to buy a simple needle threader as well. I use one now for sewing as my eyesight gets less acute.

  6. Will do.

    Final question. Over two months I could get high winds. Do you think though carrying the additional two poles is overkill? I would have thought with the extra guying I should have enough confidence to ride out some heavy winds but what do you think?

    Mark

    1. I’ve never had occasion to use the crossover poles. It’s a very stable tent. However, the Scarp does rely on secure pegging at the corners. Using the crossover poles makes it more or less free standing. I guess it depends on your calculus of weight and safety margin for error. As long as you can peg it securely, it should be ok.

  7. Robin, thanks again for your response. I think the extra guying should do it, the extra weight and inconvenience of the poles may just not be worth it. I think if I was heading out on a Scottish trip and knew I was in for rough weather I would bring them. It looks stable enough to me though, I shall find out soon enough with a few ‘testers’ in the Highlands in May and I would be surprised if I didnt have ideal testing conditions one day or night.

    thanks again – Mark

    1. I’ll take a photo of the “new” pole arch tensioning system this week when I go to Dartmoor and do a post on it.

Leave a Reply

