Dedicated obscurantist

Another contender for best song title is “The Puerto Rican Fence Climber” by The Monochrome Set. The Monochrome Set are one of the great undiscovered British pop groups of the late 1970s and early 1980s. Possibly the best singles band never to have had a hit. Just checkout “The Jet Set Junta” and “The Mating Game”. Just brilliant.

A totally different band, but I love The Durutti Column as well. I’m also a huge Peter Hammill fan. If you like blues, check out Robert Ward. His guitar is like nothing you’ve heard before (or since).

I’m a bit obscure on classical music as well, with Finzi and Rubbra being two faves.I probably shouldn’t have given away my album collection as that had some really odd stuff like a white marbled LP from Wayne County and the Electric Chairs and a 12″ single by The Dictators.

I tried to find Budgie on Napster but only came up with Mr Budgie, so that’s a fail for Napster. Never mind perhaps Alan has it stashed away somewhere.

6 thoughts on “Dedicated obscurantist”

    1. I had a look on Amazon and the CDs are very expensive apart from “Best of”

      I might get “Charge” by Paladin

  1. On the hills you sometimes get the anti-social numpty who refuses to acknowledge your existance, even though you are walking past each other on the same path!
    I often wonder what goes on in their minds?
    My approach to this?

    The Least we Can do is Wave to Each Other.

    I also saw VDGG – in Aberdeen!!

  2. I always thought “Several Species of Small Furry Animals Gathered Together in a Cave and Grooving with a Pict” by Pink Floyd was quite a good song title! As well as “The Insatiable Quest for the Cosmic Cabbage” by Ted Nugent…

Leave a Reply

