Ansel Adams

A few years ago I was lucky enough to go to Yosemite as a side trip while on a business trip. It was there that I first encountered Ansel Admas’ photos. I brought a few reproductions home. On Saturday I was in Waterstones looking for something to spend some birthday money on, when I spotted a large format book of his photos. In many ways you need a huge book to appreciate his landscape photography. It’s not a true classic as it doesn’t have any Yosemite photos. However, for the price (it’s cheaper on Amazon) it provides a lovely browse. You really appreciate the scale and grandeur of the mountains. The printing is not of the absolutely highest order, but you get 120 photos. It certainly provides fuel for some dreams.

 

5 thoughts on “Ansel Adams”

  1. I was lucky enough to visit an Ansel Adams installation at a local art gallery last year and it was stunning. I don’t think I’ve ever sat in an art gallery and just stared at pictures for so long. Highly inspiring.

  2. I just saw an Ansel Adams exhibit at the Phoenix Art Museum. I noticed they had some of his books in the gift shop. I should go back and check because that book sounds like the perfect book to see how grand his work truly is. Luckily the exhibit is going on for a few more months so I have plenty of time to go back. Thanks for sharing about the book!

Leave a Reply

