Sleeping bag mod

I’ve mentioned before that I was getting my mother to make a small draught collar for my Cumulus Ultralight 350 sleeping bag. I like this sleeping bag. Despite the down quality not being quite so good as my other sleeping bags, I like the cut (slightly slimmer than the WM Highlite and Alpkit Pipdream) and the trapezoidal baffles are more effective at eliminating cold spots. However, it doesn’t have a draught collar, so heat can escape when the hood is closed.

The Valandre Bloody Mary sleeping bag has removable draught collars, which I thought was a good idea to copy.  Fortunately my mother is a superb quilter, so after explaining what I wanted she made me a removable draught collar. Well, it’s more like a draught strip. It’s very light (19g) and uses velcro to attach to the sleeping bag. The material is some Pertex type material and it is filled with a bit of quilt wadding. Below are some pictures that hopefully demonstrate how it works.

 

Above: Draught tube attached

Draught tube half removed.

 

 Draught tube detached.

Quite a neat system. I’ve not tried it yet, but it should prevent the “chimney” effect when I move about in the bag. If it doesn’t work, I can always leave it off.

2 thoughts on “Sleeping bag mod”

  1. Looks like a good idea, interesting that you mention the Cumulus closer fitting than the Pipe Dream, I was looking at the Pipe Dream range as I thought they were a slim bag but maybe not slim enough. My PHD Minim 500 doesn’t work for me at all due to the width which is a pity as it was expensive and is really nice quality. It just goes to show that there’s more to finding a suitable bag than down quality and fill weight.

  2. If I had to buy one bag it would probably be the Cumulus Quantum 350, but I can’t justify it. It already has a neck tube. I don’t think that it would suit people over 6 feet though and the foot box is quite small assuming it’s the same shape as the Ultralight.

Leave a Reply

