Sitting around

Sitting in an airport lounge is pretty dull. Especially compared to being out in the hills. However, it gives a little time for reflection.

Despite the indifferent weather I really enjoyed my trip to the Lakes. I think I was quite lucky not to have any significant rain while I was walking and the temperatures were mild.

The cloud formations were worth seeing on Thursday. I had a brilliant wild camp, despite the slugs. Friday’s walk was different to my plan but was a lovely autumnal stroll.

I enjoyed not pushing myself, as well. Perhaps sometimes I forget that I backpack primarily for enjoyment. Sure there is a feeling of achievement at times, but that’s not the main motivation.

There is something magical and mystical about the Lake District that I’ve not found elsewhere. Sure Scotland and Snowdonia are grander, but the Lakes has the magic.

I think it’s something to do with the contrast of lush green valleys and wild fells. There is also an amazing variety in the character of the fells. Lastly, there’s the light. I don’t know why but it’s different to other fells and mountains.

Fond memories of a great time sustain me at times like this.

4 thoughts on “Sitting around”

  1. The lakes are special all right. I put it down to the fact that they’re mine. Sctoland, north wales the alps etc. They’re great but they’re somehow sombody elses. All english hill-folk seem to have a stake in the lakes.

  2. “Sure Scotland and Snowdonia are grander, but the Lakes has the magic.” Well said. Size isn’t everything!

    I’ve really enjoyed reading your report and browsing your pics, Robin. Thanks for sharing it all with us.

  3. everyone has a special spot or area that “does it” for them.

    I have been to the Lakes, Dartmoor, Snowdonia and parts of the Scottish highlands but I still come back to the Brecon Beacons for my own bit of special magic.

    Whatever or wherever it is. Enjoy

  4. Totally agree with you about the light in the Lakes. Try the Dales for a bit of slackpacking Robin – lots of lovely pubs with great beeer and none of the hills are hard work at all!

Leave a Reply

