Lakes Oct 09 1.1

Drive up took six hours with slow traffic in a number of places and was quite tiring. As I reached the Lakes the weather deteriorated with light rain and thick mist at the top of Kirkstone Pass. Arrived at Sykeside just before four. It was drizzling as I put up the Fortress (my Marmot Thor).

I dithered a bit, wondering whether I should go through with my plan to camp at Dovedale. It looked so miserable I decided to stay put and spend a night of comparative comfort. I was also seduced by the thought of a shower.

The rain came and went, although it was not too heavy. Dinner was Mountain House sweet and sour chicken and rice. Not too bad. Had a shower. Luxury.

The wind is feshening and whistling through the guy lines. Hopefully the weather will be better tomorrow. No signal at Sykeside so I’ll send this as soon as I can.

Leave a Reply

