Dartmoor booked

20130717-083455.jpg
In three weeks time I’ll be off to Dartmoor again. This time I shall be accompanied by veteran TGO Challenger, Andy Walker. Train tickets have been booked. One attraction of going in August is that there’s no firing on the ranges, so we can go where we like. I’ve lined up a couple of new camping spots. I’m hoping that the heat wave might have abated by then. There have been reports of swarms of midges and horse flies, which I’m hoping are exaggerated.

Given the heat, I’ll probably be using trail shoes for the first time in a while. At the moment I’m not sure which ones. I’m going to dig out my Exos 58 rucksack, as I figure that the ventilated back should be more comfortable in hot conditions. I have also joined the Trailstar club and will give it a first outing. I’m hoping that Sean will be able to make a nest for me before I go.

11 thoughts on “Dartmoor booked”

  1. Let me know how you get on with the trailstar. It should work well in heat because of the ventilation options when pitching.

    Hope the insects do keep away, they can make the difference between a good and a great trip

  2. Dartmoor is a highly underrated destination for hikers. Very few places in the uk come close to providing the feeling of being out in the wilds!

  3. I think you meant to say Dartmoor is grossly overrated. Nothing to see, flat and boring with polluted water and dead sheep everywhere. Much better to head somewhere else. ;-).

    Oh and don’t forget the bogs and bugs they attract. Wouldn’t be surprised if you could get malaria there with this warm weather.

Leave a Reply

